We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ovation Restaurant

Ovation Restaurant
Mayflower Theatre | Commercial Road, Southampton SO15 1GE, England
+44 23 8071 1833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 644 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $8 - $47
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, British, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are extremely proud to shout about our restaurant, Ovation. Proof that in-theatre dining can be sophisticated and contemporary. On the third floor of the city's Grade II Listed Mayflower Theatre, we are ideal for pre-show and selective post-show dining as well as more leisurely dining without the show. We are also the ideal restaurant for post-show dining after some matinee performances. Our dining room is modern in style with painted wood panelling, black and white stage photo prints and high backed leather seating, tables simply styled in monochrome, with polished silver and gleaming glassware. Modern European in flavour, our menu is as sleekly up to date as our surroundings with indulgent touches that give an extra sparkle to special occasion evenings. Our top notch wine list is an excellent accompaniment. It almost goes without saying that we offer extremely high quality and affordable dinner and show packages and of course our highly professional and efficient staff always ensure that if you're dining pre-theatre you will never miss curtain up!
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was with a group of 3 other ladies for lunch before the matinee of "The Mousetrap". What a delightful surprise Ovation is- elegant, spacious and well appointed. Our meal was faultless (not one complaint heard around the table)
Staff attentive and very professional- only gripe is that there was an error on the bill which I didn't see till we left- but am now taking up with the management. Will be back in January with a large group. This is a hidden gem

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    48
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Fine Dining as part of a great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This week, my wife birthday-treated me to go and see The National Welsh Opera perform La Boheme, and beforehand we went to Ovations Restaurant on the top floor of The Mayflower Theatre. What a great meal and a perfect evening. This was one of the best meals I have eaten, and although I didn't pay the bill (!), it seemed to be at a most reasonable price. The young staff were polite, skilled and attentive, and this added to the enjoyment of a very fine meal. Want a treat? Try a show with a meal booked in beforehand, You won't be disappointed. Excellent all round.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, UK
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Encore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Eaten here a couple of times now prior to show. Food and service is excellent and consistant, making an all round pleasant evening (and probably afternoon). Apart from hike up the stairs, as lift is quite small for every one to use during the interval, do return to your table for a coffee or dessert or finish off your wine which will be kept for you.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Surprise,surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Wasn't sure what to expect, but "surprise,surprise"! Decor just right, staff absolutely tops, nothing too much trouble, and I can be critical....and the food was really excellent! If the restaurant was not in the theatre I would definitely frequent more, certainly will go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had a great meal at the ovation restaurant in the mayflower theatre, before watching our show. Staff very friendly, and a good atmosphere. I was worried it might be too posh, as we had 2 teenagers in tow, but it was great. Food was really excellent, presented like on master chef, but decent sized portions. dessert was amazing!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ovation Restaurant also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Ovation Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ovation Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.