We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good, shame about booking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Claremont Guest House

Claremont Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claremont Guest House
Save
You added Claremont Guest House to your Saves list
33-35 The Polygon, Southampton SO152BP , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 44 Southampton B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overall good, shame about booking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel to stay in as a double and once we booked it came through as a twin room, we rang to sort this and still received a twin room upon arrival.

However upon arrival greetings were welcoming, facilities met our needs, great shower and comfortable beds and an ample breakfast in the morning with whole meal bread. Would stay again just hope the booking goes through right next time!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
16
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow Scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed one night prior to a cruise. Room was good value as Boat Show was on and usual hotels, Premier Inn etc were charging silly prices.

Friendly welcome, comfy beds and nice breakfast in a good location.

Just remember it is a Guest House and not a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

location and price can't be beat but what we came away with as outstanding is the family (3 generations present, one just learning to walk as his mom takes care of the inn) all of whom work hard to make your stay pleasant. Breakfast is great and things come as you request them. We are used to very hot coffee from grounds (instant won't do) and were supplied with our own french press in our room as well as a larger one at our breakfast table. Southhampton is a wonderful completely walkable city and the Claremont house is in the center of it all. We will absolutely stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at this accommodation on the Saturday night , Although check in time was 14.00 , We were early and the room was ready and available , We checked in and was very happy with the room and cleanliness , Although it was a twin room my wife and I new this at time of booking and also new toilet and shower on landing . Sunday morning , and breakfast time , Excellent , All in all situated between rail station and town centre , Well worth using , Finally , Proprietors allowed us to leave case in guest house on Sunday until we were ready to make our way to the station .
Thanks again , we enjoyed our weekend ,

Room Tip: oops there isnt a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere to stay that won't cost the earth and is within a 5 minute walk from the centre of Southampton then this is the place for you.

At £50 for a double with shared facilities(inc breakfast), in a very friendly guest house you would be a fool to miss it.

The owners work tirelessly to make you stay a good one. The breakfast is fantastic the rooms and facilities are spotless.

I totally recommend this guest house for a one, two or more night stay. Plenty of choice with a 5 minute walk for evening meals too

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed here one night and was very happy the room was spotlessly clean and the welcome amazing.
We had a kroon with shared facility's which was clearly stated before we booked these were again spotlessly clean with a lovely shower with plenty of hot water.

Breakfast was fantastic and I would recommend this guest house to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

i stayed here with my wife and another couple here for one night. Rooms are small but good for short stay. Breakfast served was excellent and servcie was awesome. Its location is also convenient and near to indian restaurants 5 mnts walk. hotel staff is also very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claremont Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont Guest House

Address: 33-35 The Polygon, Southampton SO152BP , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claremont Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.