We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above the usual Indian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KALI MIRCHI

KALI MIRCHI
98 Shirley High Street, Southampton SO16 4FB, England
023 8070 1038
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 644 Restaurants in Southampton
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Indian restaurant with exciting dishes cooked by chefs with culinary experience gained in some of India's most prestige 5 star hotel kitchens.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A cut above the usual Indian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A cut above your usual Indian. Food was really good and more varied than the usual thing. Service was attentive but not in your face. A minor problem with a dessert was dealt with promptly and in a friendly way. Decor was modern, light and airy. Cloth napkins always go down well :-) Midweek dinner so restaurant was quiet. Definately go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    46
    12
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“excellent food and excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Was recommended that i try this restaurant by several friends and on the third recomendation thought i had better give it a go. I am glad i did as the food was excellent. Large choice so difficult to decide what to have but tried a small selection and it was all delicious. Good service in a busy restaurant. Cant wait to go back and try some more. I will now be passing on my recommendation to all my friends and thanking the ones that pointed me in the right direction.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have visited many times, with various groups of friends. We have never been disappointed. The food is fresh and very tasty. They also have a good selection of vegetarian options.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have eaten at the Kali Marchi a number of times, with friends. The buffet is excellent and the staff are very friendly. This is without doubt my favourite Indian resturant.
Give it a try, you will not be disapointed

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Indian I've had in ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I ordered take away from here last week as it's just down the road from us and it was DELICIOUS!

All the food we ordered was delicious, the sauces were so tasty and the meat was succulent. Even the peshawari naan, which I always manage to fault due to pathetic amounts of the scrummy sweet stuff inside, was faultless - there was an abundance of scrummy coconuty/almondy sweet stuff inside and it was delicious. Sort of acted as pudding too!

Great choice, reasonably priced and delivered on time. I'll definitely be ordering from here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KALI MIRCHI also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to KALI MIRCHI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KALI MIRCHI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.