We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location....loft room probably not a good idea for very tall people!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cargo

Cargo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cargo to your Saves list
Cargo
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   20-22 Oxford Street, Southampton SO14 3DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 40 Southampton B&B and Inns
Portugal
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“excellent location....loft room probably not a good idea for very tall people!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed in the Loft Room as we wanted something a little bigger and different.
We were able to check in early which is always good and the room was nice, although up three flights of stairs (they do offer assistance with your bags so don't be afraid to ask if needs be).
There was a problem with the water and a light bulb was out in the bathroom, which I mentioned as it's quite dark in there, and they quickly changed it (if people don't report things they won't know about it!)
The room was light and spacious-nice big windows and comfy bed. Some things were a big knocked about and I would say that with the sloping ceilings it might be difficult for people who are tall (i'm only 5ft 8" and it was fine but you do have the feeling you're going to hit your head even when you're not!)
The shower was good when we figured the water problem out and there were teas, coffees, water and biscuits there for us.
They should maybe leave the code for the Loft Room wifi ready up there so you don't have to call down and ask, it'll just be easier for the staff if they're busy.
The staff were helpful and the breakfast was lovely the next morning. Great Cappuccinos!
Can't knock the location...just round the corner from the shops and over the road from our beloved Casa Brasil restaurant!
Have to say the Loft room wasn't worth the price but we still had a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    22
    16
    10
See reviews for
10
52
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Not stayed here before and was a bit worried by some of the negative reviews, but we stay in Southampton once every month or so and it was £65 for a double room on laterooms so thought what the hell!
Was really pleased we did - great room, clean and sophisticated. The radiator was belting out heat and the thermostat on it just came off in your hand but we thought we'd maybe turned it off and went out for our night on the town with friends. Got back v late and it was roasting but the night porter really did his best to help and I think actually turned the heat for the whole place off. Made it a great temp for us though :)
Next morning watched a bit of telly and chilled out before having a lovely bacon and egg butty. The operations manager went out of her way to explain she was getting the heating sorted, and had revamped breakfast system (hopefully that fixes some of the negative feedback posted by other visitors).
Anyway we thought it was a great place to stay and will defo be back. Thanks guys.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upton
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed overnight before going on a cruise he following day. It is more like a pub with rooms above than a hotel. The room was very small and the bed linen was very old and stained. the Manager moved us to another room which was not much better. The bathroom was very nice and modern but the rest of the hotel needed a good clean. It looks better on the internet than it is. Maybe the new management will improve it. Too late for me I would not recommend it or ever stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Never been to Southampton before but had to go there for a weekend with work. Despite being there for work, my stay was made a pleasurable one due to the nice environment and friendly staff.

Food was great and a good range of wines available to work through after a long day. Eggs Florentine in the morning was a great start to the day too.

I often become a recluse travelling around with work, but the staff were very attentive and friendly, helping me enjoy the usual boring evenings away from home. Nice touches throughout make it homely too.

Will definitely stay again when in Southampton next!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I just had another great stay at Cargo. The room was great as always but I wanted to mention a much improved breakfast system. Before it was a free continental and there was a charge for a cooked breakfast but due to new management there was a free breakfast included of the room whether it was cooked or continental. I had Eggs Benedict and it was cooked to perfection! I was so impressed with the new system they had in place!

Cargo has always been a pleasent stay but the new management have made some tweeks here and there and it has improved on what was already a great service!

Thanks agaiin Cargo!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have stayed here while doing some covering work in Southampton and i've found the staff to be friendly and welcoming. Really enjoyed my time at the hotel, the linen as said by another reviewer is great, fresh bedding always makes for a good nights sleep

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed with my husband for one night. Unusual place, more of a bar with a few rooms above.
Bathroom was very nice, bedroom tired shabby chic. Couldn't get to sleep for dreadful noise from pub below which went on for hours.
Cooked breakfast was extra which on top of the £85 was expensive. There was no proper reception area and breakfast was rather disorganised, butter still in wrapper and one toaster for everyone.
Not my idea of a good break although it was near to Ocean Village and boat terminals.
Staff were very pleasant .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cargo

Address: 20-22 Oxford Street, Southampton SO14 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cargo 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cargo Hotel Southampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cargo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.