We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good chance to sample one of the world great cuisines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yalda

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Yalda
50 Morris Road, Southampton SO15 1GG, England
023 8063 6383
Improve this listing
Ranked #280 of 644 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $16 - $25
Cuisines: Persian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“A good chance to sample one of the world great cuisines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. The lamb in pomegranate sauce was well balanced, the kebab just right and the rice delicious. Not surprisingly the yoghurt was brilliant. My only gripe is that the yoghurt drink is presumably authentic but too salty for my taste. The atmosphere was a bit lacking but it was mid week.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good meal out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Liked; Delicious food from start to finish. Pity that alcohol is not served or allowed on the premises. Will still go back for the food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I decided to try this restaurant before a show in Southampton. We were greeted warmly and Rohale (not sure about the spelling!) was the perfect hostess and waitress.
We loved the food and the service and shall certainly return.
Highly recommended.
.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Can't fault it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were staying in Portsmouth but as my husband is Persian we found the nearest place for Iranian food was in Southampton. The restaurant is in a back street with a tiny window to the road. On arrival we were given a warm welcome by the waitress and Iranian owner. It was Sunday night and they had a special 12 pound menu which included a cold and a hot starter, and a choice of 2 main courses. Everything we had was was nothing less than delicious and beautifully presented. We also had great service and didn't wait long for anything, nothing was too much trouble. Great value for money, lovely people, nice atmosphere and delicious food, what more can you ask for???? Try the meatballs starter and mahksous kebab mmmm.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Great pre Show place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

What a find this place was, I cannot take the credit though, my sister found it, having been disappointed by other restaurants close to the Mayflower Theatre. We we late arriving, shopping was to good, there were only 2 other people eating but it was only just after 6. The waitress seated us and brought over the menus taking order for our drinks (no alcohol available) we chose 2 starters, stuffed vine leaves and humus this came with a wonderful flat bread. As we are both members of slimming world we knew that our syns for the day were already stretched! The vine leaves were gorgeous and the humus was so obviously fresh. The bread was also delicious. We both had the lamb fillet with saffron rice, a lovely cooked tomato and a small salad. On the table was a pot of spices which we were told to sprinkle on our lamb the flavour was delightful. A portion of butter we were told should be put on the top of the rice which was white rice with a small amount of saffron on the top. Being good Slimming World members we abstained from the butter!!! The rice was beautifully cooked and I would have been happy to eat just the rice. Really fluffy and light. We did have to rush our meal slightly but that was our fault for not getting there at our prebooked time. The service was excellent and very friendly and this will be high on my list of places to eat in Southampton.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yalda also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Yalda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yalda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.