We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly reliable and authentic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Esquina

La Esquina
40 Oxford Street, Southampton SO14 3DP, England
02380225227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 644 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Vegetarian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: La Esquina is a small, family run restaurant, serving a wide range of traditional and tasty Spanish tapas. Tapas are small dishes of delicious food, ideal to mix and match to your own preferences. A tapas meal is a very casual and sociable way of eating. Ideal to share and enjoy different tastes and textures. Choose from our comprehensive menu or add dishes from our specials board. Many of our dishes are suitable for vegetarians and almost all of our dishes are gluten free. Apart from our hot and cold tapas selection we also have some delicious home-made desserts. Tapas eating is great to celebrate all kind of occasions in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. We are more than happy to cater for small or large groups and to discuss your individual requirements with you. To accompany your meal we have a great range of Spanish wines as well as Spanish beers and cider. We are open Monday to Saturday from 11 a.m. so why not call in for a coffee, (light) lunch, business meeting or dinner with friends or family? Our friendly team look forward to welcoming you soon at La Esquina.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Utterly reliable and authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was probably our 10th visit or more over the last year. The food is always delicious and imaginative, the decor is simple with an authentic Spanish feel and the welcome is warm and genuine. Easily our favourite restaurant in Southampton right now.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for your great review of La Esquina and thanks for being a regular customer. It's always great to see people coming back again. Hope we continue to be your favourite restaurant!! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    52
    15
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the appearance...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I booked this restaurant online having never visited before, so I wasn't sure what we would get. The restaurant itself looks very cafe like but having said that pehaps this is a deliberate look. The staff were really good; friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was really good too although the staff suggested 6 tapas dishes between 2 and we could probably have managed 8 ! Perhaps we are just greedy...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of our restaurant. We do try not to appear too 'pretentious' - hence a more informal look to try and attract a wide market. Our aim is to offer great food and good service in a relaxed and informal setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Walking around on a Saturday night trying to find somewhere to eat on a busy Saturday night haing dropped our son of at Uni. Failed get in anywhere when chanced this restaurant. Only available seats at bar.... Fabulous. Very friendly, lovely food, an insight into a busy restaurant and how it works. Authentic, very well priced. Infinitely better than any faux Spanish chains. Well worth a visit, will hopefully be back. Always a old sign when Spanish nationals eating there

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Rhydian - thanks so much for your great review of La Esquina. Glad that you had a good evening even though you had to sit at the bar - although that is the Spanish way!!! Be great to see you any time you are down this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great tapas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were recommended to go here by friends and we will be returning soon. Great food and a friendly host made for a fantastic and relaxed dining experience. Never rushed or pushed to order we really enjoyed our evening here. We even ordered a second round of the prawns in garlic and chilli oil because they were so good!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for your lovely review of our restaurant, we get quite a lot of customers who have been recommended by friends and family so we're pleased that you and your friends enjoyed it. Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spain at home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Great little restaurant in the heart of Oxford Street. Great food and service with a good selection of food Spanish tapas at its best. Well worth a visit and a fantastic meeting place with friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILL S, Owner at La Esquina, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Mario - thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant, we appreciate each one and they are all helpful to others when deciding where to eat in Oxford Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to La Esquina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Esquina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.