We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rancho's restaurant, Southampton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho

Rancho
43-45 High Street, Southampton SO14 2NS, England
023 8033 9777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #189 of 644 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: $0 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rancho's restaurant, Southampton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a fantastic place. One of our favourites. We have been so many times and never had a bad meal. There is no better place in Southampton to get a fantastic steak. 5 star and then some. Thanks Ranchos.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    76
    47
    39
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Gone downhill since my last visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have been to this Rancho many times since it opened and I have to say it has gone downhill since my last visit. I went there December 2012 with a friend as we wanted decent steak and in the past I remember this restaurant being worth the money. We reserved a table as it does get quite busy, and arrived about 7pm.

Unfortunately things went downhill rather fast.. It took 25 minutes for our drinks to turn up, after repeatedly asking members of staff where they were. It was a moderately busy night but not to the extent that a 25 minute delay for two drinks would be tolerated. When we finally found a member of staff willing to take our food order it took 40 minutes for the starters to arrive. We actually watched them sat on the counter for 10 minutes before one of the two waiters who were seemingly just talking to each other in corner decided to bring it over. To make matters worse, within all of 5 minutes our main course was brought over as well.

The steak was unfortunately not cooked as requested. While the rest of the food was tasty and cooked great, the steak was undercooked and the one member of staff who would actually talk to us simply said "its cooked how its cooked" and walked off.

We decided to order dessert in order to make up for the bad steak, to which we were bemused that both of the desserts were served with large soup spoons. When I finally managed to get hold of (who I believe was) the assistant manager, I asked him if cheesecake was typically served with soup spoons and he replied "the others must have been in the dishwasher" and promptly walked off.

All in all, not a great experience. I remember Rancho use to be great for food and great for service. It seems as of late they have slipped considerably.

My recommendation: If you can find another steakhouse I would go there, and only visit Rancho if you aren't too fussy about your food or the service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Steakhouse - Doe exactly what it says on the tin.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have been here a few times now and have enjoyed each visit as much as the last. A range of different steak house meats but with the main attraction being the steaks which are all cooked to your liking and even to you specific weight requirements! (I.e the steak weight of your choice!) Atmosphere is always lovely and staff are pleasant. Love it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Steak and fine wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have visited this branch of Rancho several times and the food has always been excellent but for one exception: the prawns. Twice they have been under par for me, possibly cooked from frozen? Every other dish that me and every member of the groups I have been with has been really good.
I once visited as part of a group of about 12+ and we were given excellent service and the food was served in good time and all together with only compliments to be heard.
I have also visited with someone who knows a lot more about wine then I ever will and chose some fantastic bottles of red to accompany each course. There use to be half price ribs on a Wednesday, worth checking if thats still on.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Paleo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

If you like your meat cooked well and some tasty side options this seems to be the place to come to. Big group of us had a meal on a Saturday night. Selection of dishes were all good. I had chilli squid and a churrasco fillet. Both very good. Next time I am going to try the ribs which were massive and reported as excellent by members of our group. Wine list ok.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.