We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good business stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Southampton Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Southampton Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Southampton Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Another good business stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Of all the hotels that I have stayed at this was the one which held the biggest concern for me on paper. However I found that whilst the surroundings are very industrial, for a business traveller it is an ideal location, there are shops nearby, and restaurants which is ultimately what I need from the location.

The room itself is small but isn't advertised any differently. It was comfortable and clean with good clean shower and toilet facilities. I found it to be quiet, I have seen other reviews saying it was noisy, not with the window closed. The rooms are individually air conditioned, and that adds to comfort particularly as it was a warmer evening.

The staff were helpful and efficient.

I paid for breakfast which was priced around £4.95. Which isn't cheap but you are not limited there are pastries, cereal, fruit, juices and hot drinks. Which for me was the perfect start and saved me hunting around for alternatives.

Overall good for the one or two night business stopover or for a family sleeping off a day of visiting local attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a good review about your
visit to Ibis budget Southampton. I am delighted that you
enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Marta Sajewicz
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    297
    218
    91
    87
See reviews for
149
299
122
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Does exactly what it should - clean basic room with all the facilities that you need for a single night stay. Rooms very small but spotlessly clean and everything worked. We had no soap in the room but reception quickly supplied 2 bars. Only complaint was that the pillows were unecessarily thin and even using the spare one made little difference. Either take your own or ask for more when you check in.
Really easy to find, and there was space in the car park at 6pm - not sure about later.
Breakfast was surprisingly good and more than adequate for £4.95.
Would be happy to stay again although if the nearby Premier Inn was same price then that would be an easy choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as one side of the hotel is right above a 24hour McDonalds which obviously attr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, Manager at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that
you enjoyed your visit to the Ibis Budget Southampton. I look forward
to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Marta Sajewicz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Budget, clean, quiet, air-conditioned hotel with very small rooms, conveniently located to the cruise City terminal, coach station and the West Quay shopping mall. It even provide free wifi. Three persons rooms, though small, are available at a bargain rate if you book early.
Only that they don't provide kettle and cups, soaps or shampoo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The stay was as expected and comfortable. Got a single room that had an overhead single bunk bed over a double. I kept having to watch out for the bed at the top because of its odd placement. Bought some water that was leaking and the customer representative gave me a relatively hard time to give me a different one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The room looks terrible! There is no desk - just a piece of wood size 100cm x 45cm and no proper chair. No coffee in the room and no shampoo. Towel looks dirty with some old makeup on. And parking is no free of charge. Travelodge less expensive and much more better standard.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts, and rest assured we will look into this matter.

Kind Regards,
Gerardo Souto | General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Southampton Centre

Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Southampton - the smart traveller's choice! Our modern, comfortable room can accommodate up to 3 people, with a shower, toilet, and flat-screen TV, all for a very low price. And the next day you help yourself at our good for value breakfast buffet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Southampton Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.