We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely no fault with this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Southampton Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Southampton Centre to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Southampton Centre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“absolutely no fault with this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

we were after a last minute hotel near Bournemouth and Southampton and the ibis budget was close to Southampton train station (5 minute walk) but close to town. We were given two room key cards, asked to sign a sheet and that was it. The room was clean, nicely laid out, lots of space and TV with full freeview. the only thing missing we thought was a mini kettle and complimentary tea and coffee (would have been nice as we paid a fair bit, last minute for the room). Our window looked out over a McDonalds which provided plenty of entertainment and was really close for a reakfast on the go, but also if you lean slightly out of the window you can access the McDonalds free wifi and not have to pay for the hotels. Bonus!

Room Tip: choose one facing McDonalds for free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    280
    209
    86
    79
See reviews for
144
283
119
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed 1 night prior to our cruise, ideally situated for the cruise terminal, the room was adequate for what we wanted, very clean and had a great power shower; I booked on line for £33.00 which I thought was a bargain. On arrival our son who was dropping us off had a problem with his car and the girl on the reception could not of been more helpful letting him use the desk phone to speak to the breakdown people while she was booking us in very nice young lady.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

From arriving at the hotel we knew it was a mistake. They could not find our reservation
and even though we gave them the reference number they still messed about booking us in. We were told internet was free for two hours but only in the lobby area, when I tried to use it I was told there was a fee. The room was not the best in the world but even poor by Etap standards! Out side was a MacDonald's and the noise from the staff Fing at each other or customers doing the same we had great difficulty sleeping. If you closed the window and put on the air conditioning it was so noisy you could not sleep either. The only way to get quiet was to cook in the heat.
This is the first time in many years of staying in Accor Group hotels that I have felt the need to write a complaint THIS HOTEL IS THAT BAD!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We appreciate all feedback. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments and the matter will be addressed.
Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

we only spent one night but we liked the location. Very close to a shopping center, right by the hotel a McDonalds for morning coffee and/or meals and a TGI Fridays for great atmosphere. The room is small but it had all we needed and coming off a cruise ship, no big deal. The breakfast was not all that great but sufficient. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis budget Southampton.
Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a budget stop over,we were shocked to find ourself bang smack in the middle of a huge shopping village! staff are friendly enough and check in smooth, however when we arrived at the room it was very small, the toilet smelt like a public loo, the shower was in a pod that leaked and no may. we had two very small towels between the three of us! The bed was very hard we all woke up with stiff backs and necks, the room was also very hot, we were on the secound floor above the McDonalds so having the window open was no option for us as it was consetnly noises! The generators from the restaurant buzzed all night and I was concerned out toddler would get to over inquisitive and fall out the window as they place a very large stool right underneath! It was cheap and if your really pushed go for it, but if your tired and on a journey don't bother as you will get no sleep! For an extra £20 stay in the 100's if B&Bs just down the road!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at Ibis budget Siuthampton. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. We are looking into the matter, but feel free to contact me h6209-gm@accor.com if you wish to discuss this further.
Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here for one night - as we could not get room for another day at Ibis Budget,Portsmouth. Compare to Portsmouth Ibis Budget, this branch is totally waste of money... Although they advertise "Free Parking, Free Wi-Fi, etc etc... they make you pay for literally everything... Parking - £5, Wifi - £3 / 2hrs, Shaving kit - £5, Toothbrush - £3, Soap - £1 and the list goes on and on... Staff is too cocky and arrogant... not helpful at all...
Overall, very poor... would recommend any bed & Breakfast than this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person. Please feel free to contact me on h6209-gm@accor.com.

Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here for the night. What an awful experience. Okay, so some people say that you get what you pay for, but cheap and nasty plastic shower cubicle? Really! - nowhere to hang clothes except for on the floor. I have been to places that are much cheaper than this and they have been much better. Never ever again!

Room Tip: Yes, try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibisbudget-Manager, General Manager at Ibis Budget Southampton Centre, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts and I’m sorry that you were disappointed. Feel free to contact me on H6209-gm@accor.com to discuss this further.

Kind regards,

Gerardo Souto
General Manager | Ibis budget Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Southampton Centre

Address: 3 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Southampton Centre)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Southampton Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Southampton - the smart traveller's choice! Our modern, comfortable room can accommodate up to 3 people, with a shower, toilet, and flat-screen TV, all for a very low price. And the next day you help yourself at our good for value breakfast buffet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, ACCOR and Booking.com so you can book your Ibis Budget Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Southampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Southampton Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.