We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food & atmosphere :) Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Regata Restaurant

La Regata Restaurant
Town Quay, Southampton SO14 2AR, England
023 8022 3456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 673 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic food & atmosphere :) Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Beautiful authentic decor, attentive and friendly staff. Ordered the paella mid week to have on Saturday night, it was amazing as good as one I had in Barcelona. We were a party of 4, and booked the table for 8pm, we were still there at gone 12!!! Needless to say, it was a fantastic evening, the owner was the best host!!! Cant rate this place enough

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    54
    14
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Everytime I travel to Southampton for work I make a point of ensuring I eat at this restaurant as it has to be my favourite place to eat in the UK (it helps that I love tapas!).

The restaurant is much smaller than its bigger competitor (La Tasca) but is much more charming with the most delicious food you could hope to eat. The cost is also excellent with many of the dishes of a lower price than in its rival but with the taste way exceeding them.

The staff are very friendly, you could easily guess that "Dad" is the owner, "Uncle" is the chef and the "daughters" are the waitresses and although perhaps I am wrong they bring a great family feel to this independant charming restaurant.

I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good location, busy BUT service was slow and not very attentive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Booked this restaurant as it looks good from the outrside, had some good reviews, so went to try. If you like authentic Tapas, Im not sure this lives up to it, although the atmosphere is busy and noisy (some people like that type of enviroment), its just that I felt it was too busy vs the service levels as we felt we were constantly waiting for some one to serve us/take our order etc. Nice location but perhap[s this was a one off poor service night (17th Nov 2012)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A taste of the Sun on the solent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Went here on a cold and quiet Tuesday night in November with 8 of my work colleagues. We hadn't booked a table but were warmly welcomed and accomodated as soon as we walked through the door. The relaxed atmosphere hits you straight away. We were given a table uptairs and the service from the staff was second to none. Really attentive and very patient with our pigeon spanish and lame attempts to speak the lovely language. All was done in good humour which added to the occasion.

The food was outstanding and there was a good variety to choose from. We decided ti choose 3 Tapas items each and share them around which worked really well. The wine also was lovely with lots of choice.

All in all a brilliant place and highly recommended. I willd definately be going back.

Enjoy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“king of tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

if its tapas you want or fresh fish or a great stake this is the place for you , the staff are very friendly , give you a warm welcome . the restaurant has a great atmosphere , it has a wide selection of Spanish beers and wines , if you intend going on a week end its best to book .

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Regata Restaurant also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to La Regata Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Regata Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.