We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and in need of updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Everley Guest House

Everley Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Everley Guest House
Save
You added Everley Guest House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   33 Festing Road | Southsea, Hants, Portsmouth PO4 0NG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 37 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tired and in need of updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Breakfast room was light, and modern with good array of pictures, etc. Breakfast was well served and good fresh bread toasted.
The bedrooms though were very tired looking and the decor definetly needs updating. also we booked a double room well in advance and we were in a room which also had a single bed crammed in which gave you no other space to move around in. Our room was on a busy room, butter double glazing was very dated and did not relly keep noise out, also a lot of mould /dirt spots on the framework behind the curtains
Because of this we would have liked a lounge to sit in but this did not exist either
Female host was very pleasant and welcoming and made you feel at ease.

Room Tip: don't expect anything special
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
8
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I've stayed here twice recently, once for a job interview, and then to flat hunt whilst relocating to portsmouth. I'd definately recommend this guest house. The owners are very friendly, cheery and helpful. The room itself was very nice, with a very comfy double bed, freeview tv, and pristine ensuite bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, the owner was very helpful and makes the guest house what it is. It was a 30min walk along the sea front to hms victory and where all the chain restaurants and shops are. The room was clean and you could borrow an iron and board if needed. The breakfast was good and there is free parking on the street.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

It was actually 2nd time we visited this guest house and it was really nice, rooms are clean, location very good, owners very friendly and breakfast simply big & tasty. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

I've stayed here for 2 nights, we were 2 couples in 2 double en-suite bedrooms. My room was tiny but very clean, the small bathroom was new and spotless; the other room was bigger, but with the basin near the bed. Our view wasn't very nice (on the back courtyard), but the room was quiet; the other one had a bay-window overlooking Festing road, which in the night it is quiet as well.
Breakfast was good, generous and with plenty of choice, even for vegetarians.
Location is fine for Southsea: quiet, near Albert road for restaurants and pubs; near to the seafront for beach lovers and sea walks; at a walking distance (about 20-25 minutes) from Gunwharf Quays and Old Portsmouth; near to bus stops.
The best thing was the owners' kindness (especially the man's): service was excellent, very helpful and smiley.
My room could have been a bit bigger, but it was not so important since we just needed a nice, clean and comfortable place as a basis to visit Portsmouth and the Isle of Wight.
I would definitely come back here and recommend it to someone looking for a basic, clean and nice accommodation with a good value for money (especially if compared to other more expensive o similar costing but not as good solutions).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

This B&B was not the best that we stayed at on our trip, but it was cosy, the breakfast was good and the proprietors were friendly and made us feel comfortable. Its close to the water, restaurants a few supermarkets, but a bit of a walk to the main sights. Still, it was only 48 GBP per night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

I booked this B&B with trepidation as the only other review (apart from Tripadvisor) had mentioned a shower cubicle stuck in the corner of the room!
However, me and my boyfriend were after a cheap B&B for just one night, so decided to go for it.

I booked direct with the owners and they were extremely helpful over the phone. When we got there I was relieved at how nice the B&B was.
Everything was a bit dated and tired but it was extremely clean. I had booked a double so was suprised when we got shown into a large triple room. There was a large double bed and a large single bed, big wardrobe (with loads of hngers), 2 chest of drawers, small TV and a few chairs. In the corner was a small en suite with a fantastically strong power shower. There were also plenty of soft towels for us to use.
The choice for breakfast was great as well. Choice of 5 or 6 cereals, yoghurt, fruit, full fry up & nice fresh coffee. What was even more unexpected was the choice for veggies - they had veggie sausage and veggie rashers as an option, which I have never seen before at a B&B!

Overall, I would definitely recommend the Everley - clean, cheap (£45 a night), helpful owners and great brekkie choice.

  • Liked — Great value and breakfast choice for vegetarians
  • Disliked — Dated decor.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Everley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everley Guest House

Address: 33 Festing Road | Southsea, Hants, Portsmouth PO4 0NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Hotel Class:3 star — Everley Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everley Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.