We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY START TO OUR OVERSEAS TRIP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset House Hotel to your Saves list
Somerset House Hotel
10 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Pwllmeyric
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“LOVELY START TO OUR OVERSEAS TRIP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed overnight before catching the ferry to Santander. The very large room was delightful with most attractive furnishings. The en-suite bathroom was very modern and well appointed with L'occitane toiletries. Plenty of tea/coffee/hot chocolate on the hospitality tray. Breakfast was served in the sister hotel & we elected to pay for a full english which was very nicely cooked. All the staff were very helpful & attentive. Would be delighted to use this hotel on any further visits to Portsmouth & would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again when you stop prior to another ferry trip.

Best wishes

All at Somerset House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    46
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
33
106
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at Somerset House Hotel, Southsea Portsmouth, for 2 nights from Tuesday 11 December til Thursday 13 December. We were in Portsmouth to attend a family wedding.

Upon arrival we were met by a lovely young lady, who showed us are room, and explained the parking resrictions in the area, was then provided with a parking permit.

The room was excellent, it was quite big, very clean, had en-suite facilities, tea and coffee making facilities, and most important this time of year was warm.

Breakfast is served in the sister hotel across the road, again the staff were most helpful and polite.

Yes the cooked breakfast is extra, but tea/coffee, toast. fruit and cereals are available.

I would also like to mention the cleaning staff, they are wonderful, thorough, and very knowledgeable, if you need advice on where to spend the day.

Would definately stay here again,

Thank you all the staff at Somerset House Hotel who made our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Check out the suites !!!! they look fantanstic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! We appreciate you taking the time to post it.

We hope to see you again for another visit.

Kind regards

All at Somerset House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Lovely hotel - I have stayed at its sister hotel the Florence House several times but things have changed slightly since my last visit. Although still charging the same you have to cross over the road to the sister hotel for breakfast and if you want a cooked breakfast it is no longer included in the price. Furthermore, if you want something ASK I wanted the advertised pastries but they were not on offer so i had toast then when I had finished my breakfast the staff changed and the new waitress offered warm croissants you can imagine my disappointment so my advice is if you want something ask for it and dot be like me and assumer there are none. Clean and comfortable hotel with permit on street parking, no real complaints I just hope the downward slide doesnt continue that would be a shame, as it would no longer be my preferred hotel in Southsea..

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if you dont like climbing stairs choose one on the ground floor, they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. Firstly if I can just clarify that some time ago now (about 2 years) we changed our pricing so that a continental breakfast was included but a cooked breakfast was a small extra charge. This was so people were not paying for a breakfast that they did not want. Most guests in the week do not want a cooked breakfast as they are business travellers in a hurry and this works best all round.

I am sorry about your disappointment surrounding the croissants. We have spoken to staff about this mishap to ensure we do not disappoint other guests.

Thank you again for making us your preferred hotel in the area and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

All at Somerset House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

From entering the hotel, I was delighted with the staff and their helpfulness. On being shown to my room, I was delighted at the fresh, contemporary decoration and the facilities provided in the room. Didn't work out all the buttons on the TV, despite staying over 4 nights. Free Wi-fi really powerful, no delays. Continental breakfast included was varied and delicious. Service from the staff throughout was delightful. Will be using this hotel whenever I'm in Portsmouth. Thanks to all who made it such a pleasure!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie H, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
From entering the hotel, I was delighted with the staff and their helpfulness. On being shown to my room, I was delighted at the fresh, contemporary decoration and the facilities provided in the room. Didn't work out all the buttons on the TV, despite staying over 4 nights. Free Wi-fi really powerful, no delays. Continental breakfast included was varied and delicious. Service from the staff throughout was delightful. Will be using this hotel whenever I'm in Portsmouth. Thanks to all who made it such a pleasure!

Thank you for the review, it's lovely to have you stay with us regularly. We are pleased the wifi suits your needs as a business guest and that staff were helpful to you at all times. We pride ourselves on our breakfast so I'm pleased you enjoyed it all.

See you soon

All at Somerset House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Pleasant hotel with comfortable fittings though bathroom showing signs of wear. Booked hotel based on on site car parking but on arrival was expected to use parking permit for on street parking. When pointed out I needed secure parking the receptionist? arranged for me to park in the sister hotel the Florence that had a proper car park across the road. No problem, therefore, but perhaps the website would be better suggesting requesting car parking when booking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. I apologise about the confusion regarding parking. We have a range of parking options for guests and are able to accommodate everyone's needs by request. I'm glad we could resolve this for you.

Thank you for your 4 star review and we hope to see you again soon,

Best wishes

All at Somerset House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The rooms were delightful! So many details and in such great taste. Staff was helpful and breakfast was fine. Reasonably priced, I can't say anything about location because it rained and we had to use the car. I would definitely recommend the lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation!

We hope to welcome you again,

Best wishes

All at Somerset House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a really nice stay here, but having booked the Florence Hotel online, and received a confirmation from the Florence, it was something of a surprise to arrive and be shown to sister building the Somerset. Maybe it was somewhere n the small print, but I didn't see it anywhere when I booked. That said the room was the kind of thing we expected - lovely decor, big comfy bed, gorgeous bath and a nice breakfast too. It was also a good quiet location. If I could have improved anything it would have been the curtains, which were flimsy and thin and didn't do much to make the room dark.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for review. I'm pleased you enjoyed the room you were in which was an upgrade to a larger room (of the same category you booked) Thank you for mentioning the curtains to us, we will look at this issue as naturally a peaceful night's sleep is essential when staying at a hotel! We apologise if this affected your stay.

Thank you for your kind comments about the room, bath and decor and we hope to welcome you again,

Best wishes

All at Somerset House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House Hotel

Address: 10 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#11 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#12 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset House Hotel has been restored to the original splendour of its Edwardian roots. It offers boutique rooms with free Wi-FI, just a 5-minute walk from Southsea Beach. The stylish bedrooms all feature satellite TVs and comfortable beds are adorned with Egyptian cotton sheets. Individually designed bathrooms feature fluffy towels, designer toiletries whilst some have either walk-in showers, spa or free standing baths. The hotel is close to Southsea Common and Southsea Castle. Southsea Hovercraft Port is about 1 mile away, and is a quick way to reach the Isle of Wight. Free secure parking is available at the hotel.We have a new snacks menu recently added for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Somerset House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.