We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW great place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number Four Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Number Four Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Number Four Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“WOW great place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it , the hotel was very clean, spacious and great decor. The staff were so lovely. The breakfast was fantastic and we wish we could visit more often.. The big chains need to learn from this hotel as number 4 has got it RIGHT.... Well done and thank you

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    52
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
56
173
11
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I was not sure what to expect for the price that I paid but without a doubt this Hotel exceeded expectations on all counts. Warm friendly welcome to a well appointed single bedroom and a bathroom you could swing a cat in. Spotless in every way - just a couple of things needed attention like a sticking bathroom door and a cracked tile - but I can forgive them for that. For breakfast I asked for a bacon sandwich to go and that was no trouble at all. Good bacon too. Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed in the family room on the top floor as we were there with our two baby girls. The room was really well presented and spacious. The staff were attentive, friendly and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble for them. I have already recommended number 4 to others and can't wait to stay there again (and try their sister hotels).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed two nights with a colleague of mine. The hotel is a good position. Rooms are very clean, the style is great but above all the stuff is so kind and efficient, espacially Lisa that has been so friendly and so nice to sort some our problems out. Good trip in Iceland "bella"
Regards

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Our stay at number 4 was terrific. Our host Lisa was an excellent at her many roles with lots of local info.
The rooms are bright and fresh and their restaurant was excellent and well worth a visit. Complementary Taxi to and from the restaurant made it very easy and Matthew our waiter was a ripper.
Found this gem on the net and wished we could have stayed longer.
The town of Portsmouth is simply beautiful.
Kathy and Pete Australia

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aartselaar, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed in Number Four for almost a whole week on a business trip. Rooms are really big (I booked a superior room). Every evening, we got some personalised advise for diner - reservation was made for us and a taxi booked. Freshly prepared breakfast "à la carte" was great.Price is lower than the standard hotel chains like Holiday Inn and service is a lot better. The hotel has plenty of good restaurants within walking distance, or you can take a taxi for only a few pounds.

Only a few parking lots at the building, but easy and free parking in the street.

Room Tip: As such I think you can take any room they have, but there is one very small room at a lower price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Good standard of rooms and hotel in general. Breakfast very good. Staff on duty was very helpful and chatty - nice after a very long day!

Many restaurants and food places with a short distance (10 mins walk). In fact, main road only the same distance for everything else required so location pretty good.

Only stayed for one night but overall very happy.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Number Four Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four Boutique Hotel

Address: 69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Four Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer Number Four Boutique Hotel offers stunning, individual rooms and suites. Just a short walk from Southsea seafront and close to attractions such as Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available. We have a group fine-dining Restaurant just 3 minutes from the hotel we provide a free taxi to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Number Four Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number Four Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.