We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel with personal service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number Four Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Number Four Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Number Four Boutique Hotel
69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb hotel with personal service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

So much nicer than staying in the business type hotels. A warm welcome and personal service throughout.
The rooms are superb as is the restaurant.
Close to sea front and a nice walk or short taxi to Portsmouth make it ideally placed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you here and we are happy you enjoyed your stay and service. Do not hesitate to contact us and book a room the next time!
Best wishes,
All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    40
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
149
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tallai, Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Portsmouth was the last stop in our month long visit to Germany and UK. We decided to visit to see the historic dockland area and to see the Victory and Mary Rose. The room was immaculate, roomy and extremely comfortable with high quality inclusions, linen etc. We were met by a very helpful Mary who took our heavy suitcases up to our room and explained everything about the room and the other facilities. At dinner we had excellent service from Luis and the food was tasty and very well presented. In the morning we had a relaxed start with a good choice of breakfast options before a relaxing 11am checkout. If we have any regrets it is that we only had one night there. We would thoroughly recommend this property to anyone wishing to stay in the Portsmouth area who would enjoy a luxury getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found staff attentive and welcoming, food delicious and hotel stylish and luxurious. It is the best compliment, when our guests recommend us. Many thanks!
Best wishes,
All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay in this hotel, just a short drive from the historic dockland area and a five minute walk to an excellent indian restaurant.

We were welcomed warmly on arrival and our room was beautifully clean, with a separate sitting area and private patio. As mentioned elsewhere, tea and coffee was provided when requested from reception and we could also have had breakfast in our room at no extra charge. Definitely service with a smile.

Comfortable bed, excellent shower and L'Occitane toiletries, towels big enough to lose yourself in - definitely in a class of its own and would recommend it to anyone thinking of a stay in this area.

Room Tip: We went for the superior double but it was more like a small suite. Good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking a time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed staying in one of our Superior rooms. We are happy to be "number 1" on your list. Many thanks from all the staff! It was nice to have you staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best wishes,
All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We decided to visit Portsmouth to see the new Mary Rose museum and found this very good, boutique hotel, for one night, through Tripadvisor. The location a short drive away in Southsea is very good. The hotel is extremely clean and tidy and gives the impression of having been recently decorated. The décor in our room was lovely. The only negative was that the bathroom was very small. The rest of our stay was excellent - the breakfast was great, with a really good selection of hot and cold food, the bar was well-stocked and the service good and, when we chose to eat out in Portsmouth, we were given excellent advice on a gastropub to choose. I would certainly go back here f we return to Portsmouth at any time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. We are happy to know you liked the staff, the food and cleanliness. Our small double rooms aren’t very large, but it has everything you really need for a short-time stay. Please contact us directly next time and we will accommodate you in one of our larger rooms.
Best wishes,
All at number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We decided to have a 2 night break in Southsea and wished that we had booked for longer, The hotel is immaculately clean and tidy with all the creature comforts that you may want either as a leisure visitor or for business.

The breakfast was wonderful with a good choice of cooked and well presented. The towels were as the hotel said lovely and fluffy and the toiletries made you feel like you were staying at a spa.

The icing on the cake was the option of teas or coffee being served in your room at a press of a button. Will definitely be going back,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking a time to leave a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our aim is to make every guest feel special, so thank you for your kind words and lovely compliments – it was nice to have you here and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Best wishes,
All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I found this gem of a boutique hotel using Trip Advisor.
I have used Trip Advisor many years and never once wrote a review till now!
We were traveling in the Portsmouth area to visit the D-Day sights and we needed three rooms for two nights.
I am so happy I found the Number Four Boutique Hotel!,
The moment I E Mailed them I was convinced to stay there.
The staff was exceptional from start to finish.
The restaurant food was exceptional and being from NYC I was impressed!
The staff could not do enough to make us feel at home.
I had my clothes cleaned and pressed on a few hours of asking!
Mary was the angel during our stay and was there for us at any moment to help us!
Number Four Boutique Hotel is a place you never need to leave, once you arrive. We sadly need to leave for London tomorrow but I would return here if I return to Portsmouth UK

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
It’s always a pleasure to read our guests describing the hotel as “a gem”! Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It’s nice to hear our guests enjoyed their stay and were satisfied with services privided. Many thanks from all the staff here at Number Four! If you ever coming back to UK, please do not hesitate to visit us!
Best wishes,
All at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed there last night and had a wonderful time. The service was amazing. Their 'just ask for tea or coffee' service was superb. I felt especially looked after as I have a cold and was given special ginger and honey! Wish I had the recipe for the shortbread that accompanied every drink!
The room was immaculate as was the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent. This is truly a great little hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We enjoyed having you here and we are pleased to know you left hotel feeling better! We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future and make sure next time you ask our staff to give you a shortbread recipe - it is very popular and a lot of guests ask for it! Best wishes, all at Number Four
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Number Four Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four Boutique Hotel

Address: 69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer Number Four Boutique Hotel offers stunning, individual rooms and suites. Just a short walk from Southsea seafront and close to attractions such as Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available. We have a group fine-dining Restaurant just 3 minutes from the hotel we provide a free taxi to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Number Four Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number Four Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.