We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find in Southsea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number Four Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Number Four Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Number Four Boutique Hotel
69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Harrow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful find in Southsea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a lovely place - nothing was too much trouble for the delightful staff - thank you especially to Luis and Maria - room was spotless, food delicious, location perfect. What more could we have asked for!

Room Tip: We had a small double on the ground floor at the front - bed was very comfortable although it was te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    40
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
149
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel, the room was incredibly clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and courteous and really made us feel welcome and unique.. Not just another guest like most other hotels we have stayed in.

The full english breakfast is so damn good, try it!!

All in all, could not fault it, tried to book again but fully booked this time round, will stay again soon when we are next in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for an excellent review! The staff are always doing their best to make sure guests leave the hotel happy and relaxed. Many thanks and we’ll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Fabulous hotel, a place where the staff just cant seem to do enough for me. Greeted at the door and the guy insisted on carrying my bags to the room. Told me fresh tea could be served to my room whenever i wanted free of charge. A very good experience

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for a lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Booked on line to stay at a sister hotel, and very pleasantly surprised to be offered an upgrade to a suite in No. 4 for the night. Lovely large ground floor room with separate lounge, very comfortable bed. We stayed with our friends for one night before taking ferry from portsmouth. We booked dinner in the charming restaurant - the food was superb, great attention to detail and served with a smile.

Room Tip: No lift so if carrying a suitcase is a problem ask for ground floor suite, although the staff are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We enjoyed having you here and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

we stayed at the number four for just one night while we were driving down the coast, but wish we had found this gem earlier. the service is excellent and personalised (i wish i knew the name of the girl at the desk, she deserves credit for making our stay memorable!). the rooms were brand new, light, and modern, and not to mention incredibly spacious. on arrival the girl on the desk greeted us warmly and took us up to our room. she explained the hotel facilities, and advised that there was no tea or coffee facilities in the room, but if we wanted these things we could just call downstairs and they would bring it up to us with homemade shortbread, all free of charge. we also had breakfast included in our stay, and had the option of dining in the restaurant or eating in our room. they offered both gluten free options and soy milk. this is an excellent hotel and we could not recommend it highly enough. in addition, the price (which included breakfast) was one of the cheapest we had booked in the UK.

Room Tip: all rooms have been decorated differently, and from what we saw they are all very beautiful so you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We would be happy to welcome you again – so please do not hesitate to book a room for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Everything looked nice, the room had a was very tasteful design. The staff was very helpful and nice. We had dinner at the hotel and the food and wine was excellent. The breakfast also.
This is a place where you have everything you can wish for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was nice to have you staying here and we are glad you enjoyed our hotel and restaurant. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you are planning on coming to Portsmouth again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights in the Garden Suite of The Number Four Boutique hotel. We are in our seventies and all the staff made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We were supplied with a print of the local bus timetable and even shown to the bus stop. Beautifully laid trays with pots of tea and freshly made shortbread were served with a smile in our room on request. The hotel throughout was immaculate, with decor of a very high standard. I would recommend this hotel to the most discerning of my friends and hope for the opportunity to return myself.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor in the Garden suite which consisted of sitting room with two very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for such an amazing review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed staying in our Garden Suite and liked the services provided. Thank you for recommending us – it is the best compliment! We hope to welcome you again for your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Number Four Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four Boutique Hotel

Address: 69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer Number Four Boutique Hotel offers stunning, individual rooms and suites. Just a short walk from Southsea seafront and close to attractions such as Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available. We have a group fine-dining Restaurant just 3 minutes from the hotel we provide a free taxi to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Number Four Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number Four Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.