We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number Four Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Number Four Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Number Four Boutique Hotel
69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a one night stopover in Portsmouth, and only needed a single room. The check in was faultless, with an extremely friendly and pleasant receptionist. The room was small, but beautifully decorated & spotlessly clean, with a comfortable single bed.

The breakfast was top quality, great choice, and another friendly staff member, who could not have been any more helpful.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear William,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are pleased that you liked the décor of the hotel and found staff helpful. Please do not hesitate to contact us next time you are planning to come to Portsmouth – we would be happy to see you again!
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    40
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
149
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arrived late evening & only stayed one night. However everything from the decor to the breakfast was excellent. We had Room 3 which was classed 'Standard' & therefore one of the smallest. Large enough for what we required with a really comfortable bed. The bathroom though was very small & I suggest that if you are more than average size you first speak to the owners to check this point. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a very small bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review! It’s always nice to hear our guests enjoyed their stay and were satisfied with the services provided. If you are coming to Portsmouth again, please contact hotel directly and we will be happy to accommodate you in one of our best rooms. It was nice meeting you and we hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this 2 month old property! Rooms are gorgeous, immaculately clean, with quality furnishing. Mary & Paolo were delightful; great service & they could not do enough to help us. They are an asset to the Mercer team!

Street parking is unrestricted & its an easy walk to shops in one direction or the water's edge in the other. The Restaurant has a lovely feel to it & food a good quality.

Highly recommend & wouldn't stay anywhere else in Portsmouth/Southsea. Thank you very much!!

Room Tip: Had room 4, lovely decor & great size, but small bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Jacqueline,
Thank you for taking a time to leave us a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel clean and friendly. We hope to see you again!
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 1 night for my birthday.
When booking we booked the small double but asked if we could have an upgrade due to being my birthday & being 7 months pregnant. They phoned us on our way to let us know we could have the upgrade but warned us there was a few more stairs to climb as I am 7 months pregnant will that be ok- we were very impressed and hadn't even arrived yet.

We agree with one of the other reviews that on arrival we weren't so sure what to think when looking at it from the outside it does look like it needs some finishing touches doing.

When you walk through the front doors you forget about the outside. We were greeted by Mary who seemed excited to see us, she asked about our baby when he was due etc and we were completely taken back we have never been treated so well visiting any hotel. She then took our bags for us up to our room and told us if we wanted tea or coffee to call and she said as it was my birthday they would bring breakfast to our room the next morning! The room was immaculate. Decor is amazing its very clean bed comfy. We regrettably didn't eat at the restaurant but we did have dessert, a chocolate brownie which was very nice. The next morning (my birthday) we told Mary what we wanted for breakfast and it arrived in our room within 15 mins if that, it was delicious. One of the other members of staff Paolo was very friendly too and made us feel welcome. I would recommend this place to anyone they told us we have to come back when baby is born so they can meet him and If we do visit Portsmouth again we would definitely stay here! Price is great as well.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for such a comprehensive and thoughtful review, we really appreciate it. It was very nice to meet you and we hope to meet little Mason soon! You will definitely have to stay here for dinner and try other deserts as well.

Best wishes
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were staying in a sister hotel (Somerset House) but took the free taxi service to have dinner here one night. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious and the staff courteous and efficient, Good wines and a good price.

Room Tip: We only used the restaurant, so can't comment on the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed our restaurant. It was nice meeting you and we hope next time you will stay in Number Four hotel, so you could experience staying in this property.

Best wishes
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

If I ever come to Portsmouth again I will be staying here. From walking through the door and receiving a warm welcome to leaving after an excellents night sleep I cannot fault number four. The attentive Mary makes you want to visit again with her wonderful customer service making sure we had everything we needed. The breakfast was scrummy and the chef even popped out to check it was ok. If only all hotels to provided this first class service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for you kind words. We are more than happy to know that you found our service ‘first class’. That is our aim so we are always pleased to read that our guest liked their stay. We enjoyed having you here and we’re looking forward to meeting you again soon!

Best wishes,
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This boutique hotel sets a new standard as far as I can see. Amazing attention to detail right from the moment you arrive. A lovely friendly greeting on arrival with our bags carried to the room. The rooms are of a very good size and decorated to a high standard. Tea and coffee is available free just by phoning the reception - the coffee is ground and very good! The bedding is Egyptian cotton and the bed is lovely. The bathrooms are kitted out to a high standard with powerful showers, heated towel rail etc. Breakfast in bed is available at no extra charge and is of an excellent standard with a wide range of cooked and continental options. The restaurant is downstairs and serves a great selection of food. This is cooked and presented to a very high standard and the pricing is great too. Service is very personal and friendly once more - all of the staff are a joy to talk to and really care about customers. Just light years ahead of any hotel I've experienced around the world (USA, Europe, Aus).

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent - worth spending a bit more for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reception1113, Manager at Number Four Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for such an amazing review. We are glad you enjoyed hotel so much and we are really happy to be called your favorite hotel. We hope to see you again soon, so you could enjoy your time off and see all the staff again.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Number Four Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Four Boutique Hotel

Address: 69 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England (Formerly Bembell Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This designer Number Four Boutique Hotel offers stunning, individual rooms and suites. Just a short walk from Southsea seafront and close to attractions such as Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard. Free Wi-Fi and free parking are available. We have a group fine-dining Restaurant just 3 minutes from the hotel we provide a free taxi to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Number Four Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number Four Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.