We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice cream ok. Service terrible.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Scoops Gelato UK

Scoops Gelato UK
81-83 Elm Grove, Portsmouth PO5 1JF, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #303 of 517 Restaurants in Portsmouth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night
Description: #Scoopitup with our Italian gelato, waffles, crepes, sundaes, hot drinks and much more!
Chichester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Ice cream ok. Service terrible.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I went here for desert with my pals after eating next door at Relentless. First of all we went and sat down. And nearly ended up in a fight! There was nobody at the door, no sign saying wait to be seated so we sat down at an empty table. WRONG! You wait to be seated. No bother but a sign to say so would have been a nice touch. The tables and seats were clean, which was good, but the condensation running like rain down the inside of the windows wasn't too great. We waited. And waited. And eventually when a waitress came by asked if she could take our order. She had forgotten to tell us to order at the counter. AGAIN no bother with this at all, but when you are taken to a table the inference is it is waitress service, and it didn't say (as far as we could see) that this was what you did. The ice cream was soft, but very tasty but also very overpriced IMO. We paid £19 for a big bowl of ice cream which whilst nice was over priced considering as a group we have eaten at Port Solent at the diner there and had the same desert for a quarter of the price. Whilst it is a novelty they will be busy, but I think they will have to up their game and service if they will want to stay around.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    21
    18
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dire hole”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We visited Scoops for the first time this afternoon. It was dire. First of all the company seems to lack business acumen; those wishing to buy take-away ice cream are required to queue in the same line as those wishing to place meal-sized orders and wait for a table. No other ice cream business we are aware of has not thought of having a separate ‘express’ counter for take-away business. We waited 45 minutes to be served, and due to the incompetence of the staff we then waited a further 15 minutes for our two ice creams, as the lady taking the money seemed to be processing orders faster than the halfwit who was supposed to prepare the products, and who seemed to know how to aimlessly shuffle the receipts on the counter but neither read them nor make anything of them. Secondly, the service was surly bordering on rude. Two members of staff (one of whom appeared to be the manager) were curt with us and other guests. These were the only members of staff with whom we had any contact, so the rudeness ‘hit rate’ was 100%. Thirdly the ice cream was deeply mediocre, and thoroughly overpriced. £7 for four scoops of ice cream of that quality is shocking. Only in Britain could so much be charged for so little (quality and quantity). On the continent you’d pay less than half the price for very high quality. Fourthly the design was tacky, garish and incoherent. It’s entirely unclear what they were aiming for. The branding is slipshod. Fifthly, it was full of chavs. Finally, we didn’t take our young children, but if we had it would have been unsuitable for those with pushchairs requiring high chairs, and there is no room for toddlers to run around. In short, the place is an absolute hole.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Okay ice cream, awful service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Waited 15 minutes after our icecreams arrived for the children's to come. Told we hasn't paid for them (we spent £15 on 5 icecreams, ours were crazy expensive if the kids ones weren't paid for!!) the service was awful, made to feel as if we were trying to steal/freeload. Not made to feel at all welcome. Shan't be returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“OMG!!!! AMAZING!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Went to scoops last night with my husband! was absolutely goregous!!!!
Been to gelatos in italy and this wasnt far off!!!

We had the Rocher and Peanut butter ice cream and this was DEVINE!!!! will be coming back again and again and again!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Scoops of poops!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

They have a large photo of venice on the back wall, they couldnt get any further from venice if they tried!! it was a wet friday and i decided to take my 4 year old for a gelato in scoops a so called icecream palour! i wish i hadnt bothered, firstly there was a good range of ice cream but some where too soft and some where over frozen, when i asked the guy serving who had no intrest in serving me rather than keep shouting at the young over spray tanned bimbo at the other end of the shop!! for my chosen flavor, he shoved it into a small cup like he was filling a cement mixer! i asked for a flake which was like i had asked him for a battery charger or something. once we had our selection we sat down at one of the tables. i noticed that most people where eating bucket size portions of over priced ice cream. these people where slightly over weight by about 15 stone and covered in tattoos! they also liked to swear at there children a lot!! we ate are ice cream and left in the rain very disapointed. take my advice. go and buy a tub of new forest ice cream and eat it at home in the warm comfort. The ice cream at Scoops wasnt that good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scoops Gelato UK also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Scoops Gelato UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scoops Gelato UK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.