We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southsea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Southsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Southsea to your Saves list
Premier Inn Southsea
Long Curtain Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 3AA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Southsea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Outstanding hotel in an outstanding location on the sea front.
Very friendly people both in the hotel and adjoining Brewer Fayre
Food of good quality and great views of old Portsmouth and the Solent.
Hotel very clean and comfortable
We will be back to stay

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    133
    64
    19
    11
See reviews for
124
149
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This Premier Inn appears to have been something else originally which means you don't always get the usual Premier Inn amenities like electronic key card and powerful shower head. But the staff are all friendly and the attached pub does good breakfasts, unless it's undercooked a bit like today. The rooms are comfy and to usual Premier inn standard.

The location is great for Spinnaker Tower, Gunwharf Quays shopping, dining and cinema plus the Historic Dockyard is only about a twenty minute walk away. The funfair opposite the hotel can be loud but shuts up shop at 9pm so you'll sleep like a baby. And with free underground car parking too, this Premier Inn is definitely recommended.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the 4th august for one night before catching th ferry to Spain. Room was spotlessly clean and air conditioning was very welcome and not noisy at all. Room overlooked the funfair but there was very little noise or disturbance from it and the kids loved all the rides. Very convenient hotel for walking everywhere. Breakfast was good with a good choice and set us up for the day. The staff were all great, pleasant and welcoming and went out of their way to help with suitcases etc. A great stay all round

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed here for a few days at the end of July, having stayed here on previous occasions. The hotel is in an excellent position and was spotlessly clean. The new air conditioning was brilliant and made a welcome relief to the heat outside. The staff are so polite and helpful and the breakfast and evening meals were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vorbasse, Denmark
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in room 42 - spotless clean and good space. Small window looking upon a roof - no nice view and the room became very dark. Comfy new medium hard bed and good tea facilities. Air con worked ok but made a lot of noice especially in the bath room. Room 42 is in their quiet zone and we heard absolutely nothing from the pier. We parked in the hotels private parking house just beside the hotel - including the price for the room. Very nice service. We will be happy to come again however we will ask for a room with a view.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed in a sea view room opposite the funfair. Noise was no problem at all. Stayed 3 days to look around the area, loved Gunwharf with its shops and many restarants and spent a day at the Dockyard (used Tesco vouchers for this!). We were going on to the Isle of Wight, thus the reason for staying here. Our car stayed in the underground car park the whole time. The staff and facilities were very good here, though we tended to eat at Gunwharf. Had breakfast here, good and also enjoyed their Italian buffet one night.
We had a problem with our bed, the springs on one side kept springing so one of us moved into the single bed. Mentioned to reception next day and asked for a topper, when we came back we had a brand new bed with a great topper. Very impressed so went to thank reception who said that they had already refunded our account with the money for that night.
Situation is the big thing here, you can walk everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is literally on the waters edge and has fantastic views of the harbour. As you would expect from Premier Inn, the rooms are very clean and comfortable with most of the amenities required for a good stay. They have a lift to the upper floors and air conditioning which has been wonderful during the recent period of very hot weather we are having. There is also a secure car park with a limite number of covered spaces.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Southsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southsea

Address: Long Curtain Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#10 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Southsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel Portsmouth
Premier Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Southsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.