We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB! Booking up again as i write this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Portsmouth - Port Solent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Portsmouth - Port Solent to your Saves list
Premier Inn Portsmouth - Port Solent
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Binnacle Way, Portsmouth PO6 4FB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £58
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“FAB! Booking up again as i write this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I always stay with Premier Inn wherever possible. My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights 14-15th October, the service is brilliant, it is conveniently situated and easy to reach. The staff are so friendly, we were unsure as to what restaurants/shops etc were in the area so she went out of her way to Google places and to print off a list with postcodes so that we could use our satnav to reach them. The bar/reception area is very modern, very clean and very comfortable.
The rooms are spacious and tidy and have everything you could ask for, and if it doesn't - just ask! I'm sure you will not be disappointed. The parking is brill too, secure car park and no charge.
Port Solent is within walking distance and is one of the most beautiful places I've been.
Not a bad thing to say about this Premier Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    219
    61
    20
    14
See reviews for
223
162
20
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pons, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We've stayed in lots of Premier Inns over the last year or two. This one was the most "modern" we've stayed in and there were obvious signs of cost reduction/profit improvement. The shower room/toilet is a bit small and plasticky, the washbowl is in the bedroom and of a modern shape that is not very efficient at holding a sensible amount of water for a shave. The bed was, as usual, good - nice and firm (but not at all too firm) with no sags. The restaurant was OK - not great but not bad either, and our evening meal was fine though the dining room layout seemed a bit odd with a screen dividing the room and a TV going very close to us where we were trying to eat and talk quietly without distraction from the casual drinkers watching TV next to us. The location is excellent - close to the channel ferry, that we were using the following morning, and also close to other eateries and Port Solent itself, which made for an interesting interlude.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I stay here quite often with my family and never have any problems, staff are friendly and provide a good service. No noise (we are normally on teh 4th floor!) There was a small queue for breakfast (0930) and limited choice of food that was left. I had back ache in the morning and when I informed reception they just said I should have contacted reception at 3am! If you don't know the area there is a Tesco super store, KFC & Pizza Hut all within 5 min walk (PH is right next to the hotel).

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor is your in a family room, very quite and good views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way to the Goodwood Revival meeting. The room was the usual Premier Inn standard and quite spacious. The bathroom had a large shower cubicle and toilet which was OK but the only problem was the sliding door between the bedroom and bathroom was just about impossible to slide unless you had large arm muscles (had to get my husband to slide it closed for me) and the bathroom itself was a bit tired looking. Didnt particularly like having the washbasin outside the bathroom and as someone else has commented nowhere to put a towel. Thought it was quite expensive for a Premier Inn, we paid £98 for a room booked in advance on the internet, however it was fully booked due to Goodwood/Ferries/Southampton Boat Show etc. that weekend. It is about a 10 minute drive to Port Solent from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Like all Premier Inns, you know that there is a standard below which it shouldn't fall.
Although the double bedroom is quite spacious there are some important minus points:
The only WASH BASIN (with wall mirror) is IN THE BEDROOM (and nowhere to put a towel). Doesn't sound a problem until you realise that your partner or you has no privacy, especially if you want a personal wash but not have a shower.
The bathroom consists of a toilet and large shower cubicle with a high level, fixed shower head.
The SLIDING BATHROOM DOOR is VERY NOISY: it can't be opened and closed quietly at night. If you don't get up in the night, then this might not be a problem for you.
Barrier car parking is free. Easy access to main road into Portsmouth (about 10 minutes).
I personally find Premier Inn beds have not enough give for my back and always have a painful back the next day. However, I know the standard of these hotels is good and have never experienced any booking or other problems, unlike some other chains.
Breakfast worth the £7.95 is in the dining room on the ground floor.
Staff all charming and helpful. Cost for first night £119, second night £72 so not cheap.

Room Tip: Although I sleep on a hard mattress at home, I have found that Premier Inn beds are a little too har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Have used Premier Inn in the past, but they seem to have gone downhill recently; I'd guess the powers that be are trying to increase their profitability.

Main gripes:

The price: £119 per room per night without breakfast!
The room was scattered with advertising brochures for themselves - almost like "Ryan Air" somewhat tedious!
The "bathroom" consisted of a room with only the shower & toilet in, the basin was in the room!
The shower had one of those "water reducing" heads - serves only to increase the amount of time spent in the shower & therefore does nothing to save water!
There was no toilet ROLL - only a "public toilet" like tissue dispenser (for £119 per night I would expect a roll?)
The food was crap & the service somewhat indifferent - the wine was wrong with regard to the alcoholic content - not as advertised!!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Social Media at Premier Inn Portsmouth - Port Solent, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Room great, good staff but let down by the on-site restaurant - ordered a sirloin & got served a rump insead - only admitted they had run out when I queried so obviously hoped I wouldn't notice. Bar ran out of all lager just as Man U kicked off on the telly (still had no Stella 3 days later!) so went next door (Harbour Lights) which had much better food & service (& lager ;-).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth - Port Solent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth - Port Solent

Address: Binnacle Way, Portsmouth PO6 4FB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#9 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth - Port Solent 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Portsmouth - Port Solent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Port Solent) Hotel Portsmouth
Tulip Portsmouth
Portsmouth Premier Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Portsmouth - Port Solent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.