We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chi Coffee

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chi Coffee
146 London Road | North End, Portsmouth PO2 9DJ, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #338 of 478 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Café
Restaurant details
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Everything in the place is filthy, hand towel in the bathroom doesnt look like it's ever been washed, tables seem like they've never been cleaned. The staff have a serious customer service problem, having arguments and personal conversations in front of the customers. They also appear to be getting any negative reviews they can deleted. Avoid like the plague!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Friendly and different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Been a regular customer for a while now and particularly enjoy Fridays Tarot/Oracle card share. Also any other day I enjoy talking to others about spiritual things. With regaular workshops to cater to different interests. Not just for pagans but they are working towards bringing in other spiritualities. But anyone is welcomed to come in and enjoy a relaxing cuppa and cake! A place where you can be you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Amazballs read some bad reviews on this place but it's like marmite. I love it food is worth the visit the staff are friendly and the atmosphere is amazing. Will be recommending to all my friends

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding Services!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I had a nice experiences in this coffee shop as their service was outstanding and the staff are very polite and welcoming. The best drink I've ever had is the chi latte and have been back there many times and it's just a very friendly welcoming environment would definitely go back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We tried this coffee shop recently as we live close by and was most disappointed . The atmosphere was cold and the premises was dirty. From the teapot my wife had to the floor with dogs hairs and the sticky table.
My wife went to the toilet and passed the prep kitchen which was dirty and really should be shut down. There was tools and all sorts of rubbish just outside toilet and kitchen very unwelcoming. We ordered coffee and a Tea and some cake,well coffee was some cheap coffee which tasted awful and the tea was so weak it did not taste like tea and the pot was filthy. I had carot cake and it was stale and my wife had toast and it was cold .
What shocked us the most was that they had some kind of seance going on with some very strange people. What upset us was that what seemed like the owner, was gossiping about their resident tarot reader and also about a friend ,how unprofessional and awful. It felt like we were sat surrounded by drama.
The whole experience left us with a feeling of no one actually knew what they were doing,food was below average and a very unplesent experience which made us not want to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chi Coffee also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Chi Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chi Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.