We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gourmet Feast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White Horse Southsea - Formerly Langrty's

The White Horse Southsea - Formerly Langrty's
51 Southsea Terrace | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3AU, England
02392818979
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 449 restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Gourmet Feast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was down in Southsea with a friend and we decided to eat inside the restaurant area. The food was great (one of the best burgers I've ever tasted and will soon eat there again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    23
    10
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely pub in a lovely setting, Ignore bad reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to the White Horse, we chose to eat here on Saturday whilst visiting Southsea for the show and it met our expectations once again. Food was lovely and came out very fast which surprised us as the pub was jam packed. The staff are always so friendly and welcoming as are the landlord and landlady. Always greeted with a smile and made to feel like a local. We will definitely be back again! Ignore bad reviews they are not true, at the end of the day this is a PUB not a Michelin star restaurant, I'm not sure what people expect these days but I am a chef and the food here is fresh and very tasty. The Carvery is a must!
Thank you all at the White Horse for another lovely afternoon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely pub in a lovely setting, Ignore bad reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to the White Horse, we chose to eat here on Saturday whilst visiting Southsea for the show and it met our expectations once again. Food was lovely and came out very fast which surprised us as the pub was jam packed. The staff are always so friendly and welcoming as are the landlord and landlady. Always greeted with a smile and made to feel like a local. We will definitely be back again! Ignore bad reviews they are not true, at the end of the day this is a PUB not a Michelin star restaurant, I'm not sure what people expect these days but I am a chef and the food here is fresh and very tasty. The Carvery is a must!
Thank you all at the White Horse for another lovely afternoon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great carvery nice pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal at the white horse southsea, best carvery I've had in ages good value, very friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Steak cooked to oblivion. Chips like wood. Barmaid with a chip on her shoulder - had to be asked to wipe the table but was only prepared to wipe half of it. Truly horrible experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Southsea - Formerly Langrty's also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The White Horse Southsea - Formerly Langrty's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse Southsea - Formerly Langrty's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.