We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson

Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson
Portsdown Hill Road | Fareham, Portsmouth PO17 6AN, England
+44 1329 233734
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 42 Attractions in Portsmouth
Type: Historic Sites, Specialty Museums, Cultural
Attraction details
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We visited on a sunny afternoon. There as a lovely view over Pompey Harbour.
The museum has lots of interesting stuff for all ages: like mock-ups of a military hospital, officers' and squaddies' mess, etc.; and then loads of cannons from old horse drawn ones through to piece of Saddam Hussain's cannon (aka for a petrochemical plant - likely story).
Can't say I'm a fan on militetia, but worth a visit. We did run out of steam as there are so many cannons.
Our daughter liked the tunnels round the site.
There is a column nearby dedicated to Nelson.
Nice cafe too (but not barista coffee).

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    95
    14
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to visit our history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Lots to interest all age ranges and friendly helpful staff. Lots to see even if the weather isn't too good, No parking or entry charges. We had twins 6 year old boys and a birthday cake and a young lady very kindly offered us plates and forks to help out.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant, and free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

On an impromptu family day out last weekend, my husband and I were pleasantly surprised to come across Fort Nelson. We were even more surprised to find out it was free to enter (having discovered that a family ticket to the Mary Rose Museum was £47!). We took our 3 daughters, aged 8, 6 & 17mths, and the 2 oldest ones loved every minute. We were lucky that the weather was great, which helped, and getting the pushchair around wasn't difficult either. The discovery areas inside were excellent, and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“New Buildings Have Spoilt Fort Nelson”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Love the Armament the old Buildings and History but feel the Cafe/entrance completely spoils the unique feeling theOld Fort had for Me .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for young families who enjoy history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I found it very pleasant and enjoyable for children of young school age who enjoy learning about our history. There are interactive things to do and an out door play area at a very small fee. It is FREE to get in and you can stay all day or come bak as many times as you like. They have toliet facilities of all types and disabled tooo. A cafe with indoor and out door seating with tables. Nice hot and cod snacks and lunches for all ages , hot and cold drinks. Gift shop. Lay on cannon shows mostly daily but check online or the leaflet for details of shows and entertainment throughout the coming year. In the summer it is lovely. But most of the museum is under cover. I would reccomend this place as a lovely free be and a lovely fun day with the children. you can still take your own packed lunch. The car park is opposite the other side of road from the museum. follow the road signs. They have a seperate car park for coaches only too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.