We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portsmouth's hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
6 Malvern Rd | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England (Formerly Sea La Vie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
uk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Portsmouth's hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Fabulous luxury on affordable budget. Rooms are stunning yet homely feel. Every detail has been thought about with care and panache. Eileen is a fabulous hostess, and beautiful food choices for leisurely breakfast. Deserves its number one listing on here.
Will definitely stay again and again. Ideal location close to amenities.

Room Tip: All rooms are luxurious and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhopeakoski, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you Leslie for your review.We pride ourselves on giving our customers very good food.
The pancakes are from an old Irish recipe.
Im glad you liked the salmon.
We hope to see you again soon.
Eileen and Jannika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
111
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just so comfortable, with beds that made you think you were sleeping on a giant marshmallow. The dining room was beautiful and Eileen great company. The quality of the food was excellent, beautifully presented. When Eileen says 'I can prepare you a little something for supper' be prepared for fine dining!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhopeakoski, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Thats the name of the game looking after our guests .Im thrillled with your comments and thanks for choosing to stay with us.
Eileen and Jannika.
I like your description of the bed a marshmallow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Sea-La-Vie is probably the best B&B I've ever stayed in. My partner and I stayed for 2 nights in December 2012 and I really wish it could have been longer! You just can't fault it - the warm hospitality provided by Eileen and her daughter (and their lovely dog), the delicious breakfast, the amazing rooms, the bowls of chocolate dotted around so you can help yourself...
The location is also ideal - close to the city centre but also far enough away for some peace and quiet. No problems with parking either, as you are provided with a permit to park on the street outside where there were always spaces available.
Sea-La-Vie won Channel 4's 'Four in a Bed' and it's not hard to see why. Can't wait to go back and will definitely be recommending Eileen and her establishment to anyone who wants to visit Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Book directly with Eileen via phone or her web site for the best deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhopeakoski, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your response.I do like to leave little bowls of maltezzers everywhere.Im glad you felt so comfy, that home from home experience without someone being to over attentive.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Eileen and Jannika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in Portsmouth - we were attending a function on HMS Warrior
Am I glad I chose Sea-la-vie, the welcome and service were second to none. The bedroom was cosy and comfortable, the bed was sheer luxurrry - down duvet. Breakfast was an Irish experience with fresh Soda bread - no need for lunch. Congratulations on winning "Four in a bed" I look forward to the programme. Give Eileen a call to book an unforgetable experience!! Sea-la-vie is now on the A list to stay when visiting Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Rooms are equally luxuriously comfortable Phone Eileen to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhopeakoski, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you.It is better to book direct with us,then we can offer you more little comforts.
Homemade bread endless cups of tea and coffee with homemade Irish shortbread.
We would like to see you again.
Eileen and Jannika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I simply love it! We have spent a wonderful night there. It was my birthday, and the hostess presented me a bottle of wine and an extra hour of stay for free. For breakfast we could choose between full English breakfast + cereals or pancakes with bacon and honey. We've chosen second option and it was a gastronomic ecstasy! Rooms are all museum-looking. It is impossible to describe the bed. It is made of mahogany and covered with silk, of enormous size and softness. Briefly talking, to us this hotel was a dream come true, for a very reasonable price!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, and they don't share walls, providing even more privacy to everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhopeakoski, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you your review.
It was my pleasure to look after you and your lovely new wife on your Honeymoon.
This is the feel we like to portray good service,excellent food choice and peace and quite in the Guest House,
and thankyou for the lovely photos you took of Sea-La-Vie.
Eileen and Jannika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

While having to stay away on business most weeks I had become a little tired of the purple hotel chain and decided to look at what else was on offer. Well I was not disappointed with my stay at Sea-La-Vie apart from the fact that I was only staying the one night ! The room was bright cozy and luxurious - I dont think I have ever stayed in a more comfortable bed and the duvet felt like you were wrapped in a cloud - seriously. Breakfast was excellent nothing was too much trouble for Eilleen or her daughter. Now I know why they won the "Four in a bed" Channel 4 programme. There were so many simple touches that made my stay special even down to small bowls of maltesers dotted around for you to help yourself. From now on when I am away in Portsmouth it will be Sea-La-Vie for me. Thank You.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at Sea la Vie last week and thoroughly enjoyed my stay, wishing I could have stayed longer. Everything was just spot on, from the cosy French style bedroom with the calm and comfortable feel to the tasty breakfast served in the sunny dining room. There were many welcoming touches, such as delicious bisquits, and a Karelian pie served by the daughter at breakfast time, not to mention a glass of Prosecco in the afternoon.

I would not hesitate to recommend this vintage B&B to everyone and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for the lovely room no 2 which has a view to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileenhopeakoski, Manager at The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks for your review.We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Eileen and Jannika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 6 Malvern Rd | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England (Formerly Sea La Vie)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique hotel, part of The Mercer Collection . All rooms have been furnished with lavish fabrics and are all en suites. Tea and Coffee facilities are available in the room. Free parking and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.