We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was love at first sight ... and nothing has changed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mary Rose Museum, Portsmouth Historic Dockyard

The Mary Rose Museum, Portsmouth Historic Dockyard
Main Rd | Portsmouth Naval Base, Portsmouth PO1 3LJ, England
+44 23 9275 0521
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 49 attractions in Portsmouth
Type: Museums, Ships
Attraction Details
Comet, Qld
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“It was love at first sight ... and nothing has changed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I first visited 6 years ago and again 4 years ago. I loved the display and the museum then.
I love it even more now. The new museum is beautifully presented. Mary Rose herself is so much more visible and even more beautiful than when I first saw her.
Each level of the museum corresponds with a deck on the ship, and the stories on each relate to the artifacts found and the occupations of the crew members that these would have belonged to. We could have spent hours more. Just so much to see.
Do not miss this if you are there. Allow plenty of time.
I can't wait for my next visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    157
    56
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Godalming
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Raising the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The beautifully presented Mary Rose museum really brings a by-gone life in to the present. The three floors all contain amazing artefacts including the skeleton of the ship's dog. The side of the ship is contained ai a huge sealed container with plenty of viewing areas. This museum is well worth a trip.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fascinating Work in Progress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Having seen her lifted, then years of water jetting to remove the salt, followed by years of wax spraying and impregnation to aid preservation, it is wonderful to see the remains of the hull now being dryed. Now housed in her own museum it is well worth a visit

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay, NL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Allow plenty of time, there is alot to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

You wont see anything quite like this.. the ship is now pretty well all visible since they have stopped the glycol washing and she is now drying... way bigger than I expected. the 3 floors of artifacts will take some time to go through if you want to read every label.. the crowds can be thick, (people seem to come to Portsmouth for the weekend), they use a timed entry ticket so you should plan to do this one fist since the other ships are open door drop-in..

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

A truly incredible experience. Well worth a visit if only to see how the ship's crew lived on board.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mary Rose Museum, Portsmouth Historic Dockyard also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Mary Rose Museum, Portsmouth Historic Dockyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mary Rose Museum, Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Mary Rose Museum, Portsmouth Historic Dockyard to your Saves list