We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay again!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Plaza | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
wiltshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on business. Check In was fast and friendly!!
Room was a good size and spotlessy clean with a decent sized tv and a powerful shower. Breakfast was good with a decent choice, no restaurant in the hotel but plenty nearby. Located about a minute from Gunwharf Outlet and a Tesco Express right next door!!

Conveniently situated and extremely pleasant!! Next time I'm in Portsmouth I will be staying again without a doubt, excellent value!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is good to hear your check in experience went well and you room was ok for you. As you say we do not have a restaurant for evening meals but Gunwharf Quays has over 30 different bars and restaurants for you to choose from. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    300
    182
    72
    19
See reviews for
123
274
34
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel was perfect for our requirements. A short walk from the railway station and bang in the middle of the shopping centre. Room was comfortable and clean, all staff we met were very friendly and helpful, especially the girls at breakfast time. Incidentally the breakfast was very good, much better than we were expecting. We will be staying here again! Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. As you say our location is great for anyone wanting to shop in Gunwharf Quays which has 90 different retail outlets. I am glad your room was comfortable and clean for you and I will pass on your comments to the housekeeping team. It is great to hear that you found all the staff at the hotel friendly and helpful. I will pass your comments on to all the team at the hotel especially to the breakfast girls you have mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Once again thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife & I stayed in this hotel on a Saturday night, room 103. The check in was fine, nice informative receptionist clean public areas & the rooms are well equipped . So all in all a very good stay. Apart from the smell in the room. The best way to describe it is , it was if the extraction fan from a burger bar was connected the air conditioning unit & pumped all its vapor into our room.. This is ok when you first get back from indulging a few beers but after a while it repulrd you. They really need to sort this problem ASAP

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Thank you for bringing the odour in the room to my attention, I will get the housekeeping and maintenance team to look into this. I am glad your check in was good. I will pass your positive feedback regarding the public areas back to our housekeeping team. Its great to hear overall you had a good stay. Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is within a great location of Gunwharf Quays - outlet designer shops all around and many restaurants to choose from. We ate at Blanc across from this Holiday Inn which was very reasonably priced and nice food.
We parked in the main Gunwharf parking walked to the hotel which is 5 mins away and handed our parking ticket to the receptionist on arrival who 'swiped' it, so we had 24hr free parking.
Hotel is value for money with everything you need, a few areas need improving (mould spots in shower area,hallway carpet lifting,iron burn by bed,hard pillows with no guts,lumpy mattress- however these things are minor and didn't affect our stay) We stayed in room 316 overlooking the shops - temp. of room was easily adjustable thankfully as it was set to 26C!! It took a while to cool down with the help of an open window, free wifi was fast, breakfast was Ok, friendly staff, slept very well even if the pillows were gut free and the mattress like pebbles! would come back here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you found our hotel value for money. I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping regarding the mould etc and I will have them look into this. It is good to hear you found the staff friendly. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I will pass on your comments to the team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed with friends 16 Jan. Fantastic location for the shoppers. Sean the manager could not be more hospitable, as was the same with his staff. Great to see a manager with such a hands on approach and a wonderful sense of humour. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. As you say our location is great for anyone wanting to go shopping with Gunwharf Quays having 90 retail outlets. I am glad you had a great stay and I will pass your comments onto the team at the hotel. Thank you again for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Hotel location is ok, but the rooms are not good ventilated and not very spacious. The staff is not helpful or service minded at all. The worst in my experience for years. Breakfast was good though.
Find a nicer hotel in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry the size of the room was not to your liking. All our rooms have windows which guests can open to help ventilate. It was disappointing to hear that you found the staff not helpful or service minded and if you have the time I would like you to contact me at the hotel direct so i know exactly what the issues you had with the staff were and I can address them. My telephone number is 02392-894-240 and email dm.hixportsmouth@kewgreen.co.uk.
I am pleased the breakfast was good for you. I look forward to hearing from you.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WARWICKSHIRE
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Had a 3 night stay here in one word excellent. The person at The top must be excellent so this person ensures every one else is excellent. I cannot fault this hotel the staff training programme must be second to none. The location is good for everything too Thank you

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. As with all reviews I will pass on all your great comments to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Address: The Plaza | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.