We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Plaza | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 39 hotels in Portsmouth
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I work in travel and have had the fortune to stay in some amazing hotels, but the criteria for this trip was a reasonably priced property for 6 women to enjoy a weekend away

I was not disappointed!
Greeted by a very friendly chap who sorted out taxis and extra pillows - good start.
We booked two rooms meaning someone would have a sofa bed. The rooms are spacious even with the sofa bed. Choice of firm or soft pillows. Only gripe about the room for me would be lack of a bath but there is a perfectly adequate shower


I like the free wifi (which I'm in now) and the heavily discounted parking in gun wharf (£2 a day instead of £20)

Some people have complained about breakfast. It's not a full service full English but doesn't advertise to be. I had sausages which were a little disappointing but the croissants, pain au chocolate, cereal, toast and fruit is plentiful and tasty

Over all, £100 a night for three sharing, including breakfast represents good value to me!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you taking the time to post a review. It was great to hear that found our staff both friendly and helpful. At our hotel we do offer a complimentary continental breakfast with hot favourites and I am glad you enjoyed the selection on offer although slightly disappointed by the sausage. As with all reviews I will pass on your feedback to all the staff here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    261
    164
    62
    14
See reviews for
103
229
32
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We we greeted by a pleasant young lady on reception who informed us of the hotel facilities etc. We stayed for 2 nights and had a really good stay, the room was comfortable had a lovely view and we could see the boats passing by. The hotel is in a perfect spot with many nice restaurants we were spoilt for choice. Breakfast was adequate there was something for everone's palate, we arrived each morning around 8.30 to many empty tables. Tables were cleared promptly by the staff in the restaurant. All in all a very pleasant stay and would return.

Room Tip: Request a room where you have a view of the waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was great to read that you really enjoyed your stay and found the hotel and the team to be excellent. As with all reviews I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team who will be delighted to hear them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and once again many thanks for the positive feedback.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Extremely disappointed at value for money - this is the highest amount I have paid for a nightly rate (£160) and so my expectations were high, but basically you are paying for the location as it is very convenient for Gunwharf - you are certainly not paying that rate for the hotel. Very basic, could only provide a twin room rather than a double as requested and as they were on wheels several times I very nearly ended up on the floor as they moved away from the wall!! The room was in need of an upgrade. Breakfast was a free for all - absolute chaos! They say it is free, but the room rate more than covers it........and the rest of meals for the day!! I will be sticking to Premier Inn's in future - never had a bad one and never had to pay more than half the cost of this one for a night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for posting a review following your stay, I was disappointed to read that you did not feel the hotel offered good value for money. As you say the hotel has a location which is second to none situated on the Gunwharf Quays complex with all it has to offer on the hotels doorstep. I apologise that you were not allocated a double room as requested, we do try to accommodate all of our guests requested unfortunately this is not always possible, should a specific room type be required then it is always best to book that specific room type, when a standard room is booked it is explained that this means the room type will be allocated upon arrival and could be any room type that is available. I have spoken with my Housekeeping team to rectify the problem with the bed moving, I apologise that you had to experience this. As a Holiday Inn Express hotel we offer a free continental style buffet breakfast with hot favourites which are scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans, this is consistent throughout all Holiday Inn Express hotels in the United Kingdom, we do experience peak periods during our breakfast service which is explained at check in and we do have notices around the hotel advising our guests of this. Once again thank you for taking the time to post your comments which will only help me to continue to improve the hotel and services that we offer.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Standard Holiday Inn Express product with gives an affordable room / package .

This hotel is a 5 mins walk from Portsmouth harbour station , good location in Gunwharf .
Breakfast included in price and was ok but not the best in respect that some of the fruit was clearly past its best . My room was ok but beginning to wear round the edges (chipped woodwork and warn sofa) however clean , warm and hotel felt safe and would use again . So for the money it is 4 stars .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for posting a review, as you say we have a great location on Gunwharf Quays with all the complex has to offer on the hotels doorstep. I apologise that our free breakfast was not as good as it could have been and will ensure the breakfast team are aware of your comments to avoid this in the future. Once again many thanks for posting a review and I trust we will be seeing you again the next time you are visiting the area.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at the hotel, great location, close to the shopping, bars and eateries.
Our room was clean and tidy, the staff were all helpful and friendly, breakfast was very nice, the food items were constantly being refilled and tables cleaned especially at busy times.
Will stay again next year.
Nice to find that the wifi is free now!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel and team to be excellent. As you say wifi is now free in the hotel for all guests which is fantastic and this is consistent throughout all Holiday Inn Express hotels in the United Kingdom. I was delighted to read that you have stayed with us a number of times and will be returning again next year. Once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting Portsmouth.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Gunwharf Quays is a very modern area of Portsmouth and the Holiday Inn Express fits the bill for a good value hotel in a great location to enjoy the Gunwharf Quays and is very close to the historic ships area. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice and clean. We got a huge discount on car parking, £2 for 2 days an unexpected bonus. The area of the hotel has loads of outlet shops and high quality restaurants and clubs. For a long weekend away it was just perfect .... Apart from the breakfast of course. This Holiday Inn had the usual problem of tasteless sausages and rubbery scrambled egg but that aside it gave you an excellent choice of fresh fruit, cereals, croissants, baked beans, toast, good fruit juices, a wide range of hot drinks and really attentive staff. We had a great weekend and will certainly return again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the front of the hotel overlooking the shopping area rather than the back over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for posting a review following your stay with us, It was great to read that you really enjoyed your stay and found the hotel and the team to be excellent. I apologise that the hot food at breakfast was not to your taste and was happy to read that you were able to enjoy other items from the wide selection that we offer. Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was our second visit to this Holiday Inn and I'm happy to say since our last visit the wifi is now free.
The rooms were up to the expected standard and the check in staff were probably the most helpful ive ever sen in a British hotel.
Two little let downs though,firstly whenever we've stayed in Holiday Inns,the breakfast is usually sausages and scrambled or fried eggs on one day and bacon and scrambled/fried eggs on alternate days.Unfortunately,on all three days it was sausages and scrambled eggs..no variety.This really needs sorting,Sunday breakfast without bacon is sacrilege.
The other let down due to its situation on prime real estate,parking is a problem.I have a blue badge and there are 7 spaces right next to the hotel.The last time we stayed 18 months ago,I got a ticket(despite having my badge in on the dashboard),this time the places were not policed at all.On the Saturday evening we returned from our friends house in Havant,to find that there was one space left,at the bottom end of the row.Out of the 7 cars there(including mine)..3 had badges,2 did not and 2 had STAFF stickers in the windscreen.
One of these staff i saw the next morning and he was a guy who looked to be in his mid 20s and in no way disabled.
Apart from these little niggles I would have rated it 5 out of 5 if only for the situation.There's loads of bars,restaurants and shops right on site,so its ideal for a short break.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left hand side of the hotel(looking from the reception desk down the bar area) are bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I was delighted to read that this was not your first visit to the hotel and that you really enjoyed your stay. With regard to our free Breakfast, as a Holiday Inn Express hotel we offer a continental style buffet breakfast with hot favourites which are scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans, this is consistent throughout all Holiday Inn Express hotels in the United Kingdom, our sister brand Holiday Inn hotels do offer a full English breakfast. As you say the hotel has seven accessible parking bays which are for hotel guest use, thank you for bringing this matter to my attention, I will certainly be looking into who is parking here and will rectify the problem. Once again many thanks for the review and I trust we will be seeing you again the next time you are visiting Portsmouth.

Regards

Richard Todd
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Address: The Plaza | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.