We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Plaza | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 39 hotels in Portsmouth
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Post Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My group of four enjoyed our stay in two rooms fo two nights. Great locaton to access almost everything in Portsmouth - a short walk to the HMS Victory, the Naval Museums, other historic ships and museums, as well as the train station, taxis, ships and ferries to many plces including the Isle of Wight, the Millenium Walk, Spinnaker Tower, shops an cinemas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, we really appreciate feedback from our guests, It was great to read that your party really enjoyed their stay with us. As you say the hotels location is second to none with everything you need all on the hotels doorstep. I trust we will see you all again should you be visiting the area again and once again many thanks for posting your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    262
    164
    63
    14
See reviews for
103
229
33
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays - great place to stay, right in the middle of Gunwarf with excellent night-life and access to the sea. Hotel staff were brilliant, even greeted with a smile at silly hours of the morning and great customer service. Hotel was always clean and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback following your recent stay with us, I am delighted that you really enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be of a great standard.
As with all reviews I will be sure to pass your comments onto Sam, Ben and the rest of the team, as comments such as yours really do mean a lot to us. As you say our location is second to none situated on Gunwharf Quays with all it has to offer all on our doorstep. Once again many thanks for posting a review and I trust we will see you again the next time you are visiting Portsmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel was very clean and tidy the bed was really comfy only thing we found was there wasn't enough cupboard space in our room for clothes etc. It was very central for shopping eating and drinking. Not far from the spinnaker tower and the water front.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as you say the location of the hotel is fantastic situated on Gunwharf Quays with over 95 retail outlets, over 25 restaurants & bars and attractions such as Spinnaker tower and the historic dockyard all on the doorstep. I was delighted to read that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable and had a great nights sleep. I am sorry that there was not enough clothes hanging space for you, all the rooms in the hotel are designed exactly the same for guests comfort and functionality. Once again many thanks for the review and I trust we will be seeing you again the next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel couldn't be in a better location. It is right next to the shopping district by the Quay as well as the casino and many restaurants or bars. Some of the young crowd will be looking for a different location near the inversion but this was ideal for anyone older than 25. Some noise on the street or the quay after dark is to be expected but if you keep your window closed and the fan on you will be fine.

The beds are normal european beds so nothing special but they are comfortable. Breakfast is in the lobby on the first floor (second floor for all the North Americans out there) and has everything you would want from fruits to yogurts to eggs and bacon.

The price reflects the value but you can likely get a good deal through a website. I would stay here again if I ever come back to Portsmouth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, as you say the location of the hotel is fantastic situated on Gunwharf Quays with over 95 retail outlets, over 25 restaurants & bars & attractions such as Spinnaker tower and the historic dockyard all on the doorstep.
Gunwharf Quays is a very busy complex both day and night therefore there will always be some external noise, we do have triple glazed windows and we work very closely with the Gunwharf Quays management to keep noise levels around the hotel to a minimum.
As a Holiday Inn Express hotel we offer a free continental style buffet breakfast with hot favourites which are scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans to all our guests, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our breakfast as we have been working hard to improve this.
Once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting Portsmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My fiancée and I stayed for one night on the 07/06. The location is excellent for anyone wanting to visit Portsmouth. It's pretty good value as breakfast and parking was included for the first 24 hours, and thereafter is charged at £2 per day. To the manager the sausages were not very nice. Please have a rethink, we did notice quite a few people moaning about the taste. On the whole good value if you can pay around between £70 and £80.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay, it was great to read you had a really enjoyable stay with us. With regard to breakfast, we do constantly monitor our guests feedback and I thank you for bringing this matter to my attention, I will certainly look into the possibility of changing the sausages that we currently use to improve the quality. Once again many thanks for the review and I trust we will see you again the next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Hotel location is superb, the hotel is very clean and good value for money. The staff are extremely helpful and willing to assist with anything. I stayed there for two nights Friday and Sat. The night manager Ms Samantha Tayla was particularly hard working (the manager undertakes many hands on duties), professional and extremely helpful. I even watched her and her assistant Steve as they had to deal with a group of difficult drunk guys returning from the night out whilst they were cleaning and preparing for the following morning and I must say are very good at what they do and clearly enjoy their work. I dont often write reviews, but felt that this derserved a good review. Well done

Room Tip: I overlooked the bars below but once the window is closed you dont hear the outside noise so wasnt a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to post your feedback following your recent stay, it was great to read that you had a really enjoyable stay and found the hotel to be clean and good value for money. I was delighted to read your comments regarding Samantha & Steve and I will be sure to pass your kind comments onto them both and of course the rest of the team. Once again many thanks for your review and we all look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting Portsmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Firstly the position was within walking distance to everything we wanted to do.
Rooms overlooked the pulse off the harbour. Restaurants, nightlife, DFOs & tourist spots. The rooms were clean & roomy. Breakfast was included & subsantial.
We chose this spot for parking facilitities that cost us GBP2 for 48 hrs. The first 24 are free.
I would recommend this place in a heart beat & if I was in the area again I would not hestitate to return.
Thank you to the friendly,helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I was delighted tor read your comments and was really pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. We all look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting the area. Once again many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Address: The Plaza | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.