We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and good value for money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Plaza | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Folkest
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent location and good value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

You park in the main car park for Gunwharf and then give the parking ticket to reception and they validate it for 24 hours. There’s a fair walk to hotel from the car park and no signs that I could see, but we got there eventually. The room that we had was small, but clean and tidy. The shower room was one of those where the door between the bathroom and bedroom becomes the door between bathroom and toilet, as is sometimes the case in basic hotels. There is a bar of sorts but it’s an extension of the check in desk; again quite common in this category of hotel. There are more than enough bars in Gunwharf itself though, so it really isn’t a problem.

I was quite expecting the room to be noisy as it is right in the middle of a major nightlife centre, but it wasn’t. The windows open fully, which is getting increasingly rare these days. The breakfast was included in the price and was good overall, I didn’t particularly enjoy the hot food – it was sausages, scrambled eggs and beans – but there was a full range of the other normal breakfast stuff available and it was very nice.

Given the price and location, this hotel represents good value for money and is definitely worth staying at.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay, I was delighted to read that you found the hotel to be good value for money and enjoyed your stay.
With regard to the car park, as you come out of the car park via the lifts or escalators there are signs for the hotel there, there is also a drop off point outside the entrance to the hotel so that you can drop your bags before parking the car in the Gunwharf Quays car park, as you say when checking in to the hotel you just need to bring the ticket to the Reception who will validate the ticket so that it will be free for the first 24 hours or exit and then only £2 per exit or per 24 hours thereafter.
As a Holiday Inn Express hotel, all the guest rooms in the hotel are of the same size and standard throughout, designed with our guests in mind, it was fantastic to read that you had a great nights sleep and were not disturbed by noise, as you will know Gunwharf Quays is a very busy complex both day and night and there are some late night venues.
We offer a free breakfast to all our guests, which as a Holiday Inn Express hotel consists of a continental style buffet breakfast with hot favourites which are scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans, I am sorry that the hot selection was not to your taste, but was happy to read that you enjoyed other items from our selection.
Once again many thanks for the review and I trust we will see you again the next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    300
    182
    72
    19
See reviews for
123
274
34
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Good value for money. Spotless room. Breakfast (self-service) offered good choices - don't expect to ask for kippers or smoked salmon - you are paying budget prices!

Lots of bars and restaurants within 5 mins walk. As is The Dockyard - so interesting - I didn't think I liked Naval Museums - now I do. Bus and railway stations are less than 5 mins away.

The front of house staff make this place - very helpful and polite.

We will certainly go back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay, It was great to read that you had a really enjoyable stay with us and that you experienced excellent service and found the team to be very helpful and polite, I will be sure to share your comments with the whole team. As you say we are ideally located for all the attractions that Gunwharf Quays and Portsmouth has to offer and also for all the transport links which make us the perfect choice when visiting the area. Once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

It's been a while since I stayed here. I was reminded of it having just stayed in Portsmouth again - in The Clarence Hotel.

There is absolutely nothing good about the Holiday Inn Express. My favorite part of the experience was leaving.

My room looked and smelled dirty. The bathroom was not clean and had mildew. Breakfast was awful, I couldn't even bring myself to try the disgusting watery scrambled eggs. The sausage was cold and tasteless. The coffee was undrinkable brown colored water without a hint of coffee flavor. The dining area was filthy.

For the price there are better places near by.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of the hotel, I was really disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us back in November last year. I am sorry that you thought your room and bathroom were dirty and also the dining area, we receive a lot of reviews, not only on this website but on our brand site aswell and the vast majority of them are complimenting the cleanliness of the hotel. Since your stay back in November last year we have re grouted the tiles in all the bathrooms, re sealed all the shower units and painted all of the bathrooms. We have recently started to redecorate the bedrooms themselves which will continue until the hotel is complete, the dining area has also recently been repainted and all the chairs have been re upholstered to improve the look and feel of that area.
As a Holiday Inn Express hotel we offer a free breakfast to all our guests which consists of a buffet style continental breakfast with hot favourites which are scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans, I am really sorry that the sausages were not to your taste and the scrambled egg did not appeal to you, I hope that you enjoyed other choices that we offer at breakfast. With regard to the coffee, again I am sorry that this was not to your taste, all of the products we serve at breakfast are purchased form reputable suppliers and are of a great quality. Once again many thanks for posting your comments which will only help us to continue to improve the hotel and services that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have stayed here several times for business, but I must bring my wife at some point. The location is great with many local restaurants at Gunwharf, offering every type of food. The Holiday Inn Express offers discount vouchers for many of the restaurants too. There is also a casino and night club nearby if that is of interest. Parking is free for one night or subsidised for more in the Gunwharf complex - otherwise it would be expensive. You can walk from here to the historic attractions and city centre.
The hotel itself is typical Holiday Inn Express with modern rooms, a bar and a limited breakfast included. You know the standard you will receive. Customer service is good, although not much needed. Great for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay, it was great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and will be returning with your wife in the near future. As you say we have a great location on Gunwharf Quays with all the complex has to offer all on our doorstep. There are a number of discounts available to all our guests which include the car parking, selected bars and restaurants and vouchers for the casino. Once again many thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

As many reviewers have pointed out, the location in the middle of the modern quayside restaurants and shops (and close to the Historic Dockyard) is terrific. When you add 24 hours free parking, which costs at least £10 in most of the nearby car parks, it's a pretty good combination.

As far as other matters go, the staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms and beds are fine. Downsides include the breakfasts (very basic and not much choice) and the lack of atmosphere in the bar. It was also a bit annoying to find that the premium level IC Hotels loyalty scheme 'extras' consisted of one bottle of water and one Kitkat in a room for two! However, if you are there on any day but Sunday, there are some pretty good discounts at the Gunwharf restaurants - particularly 50% off food at the 'Fire & Stone' pizza restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to post a review, as you have said the hotels location on Gunwharf Quays is fantastic, situated among over 95 retail outlets and over 25 restaurants and bars. Car parking for the hotel is in the main Gunwharf Quays car park and is significantly discounted for hotel guests, it is free for the first 24 hours or exit and is only £2 per exit or per 24 hours thereafter, normal car parking charges are £20 for 24 hours.
It was great to read that you found the team to be friendly and helpful during your stay and I will be sure to share your comments with them as they mean such a lot to us.
As a Holiday Inn Express hotel we offer a free breakfast to all our guests which is a continental style buffet breakfast with hot favourites which are scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans. We work with a number of the bars and restaurants on Gunwharf Quays and great discounts are available for hotel guests ranging from 10% to 50%.
Once again many thanks for the review and I trust we will see you again the next time you are visiting Portsmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant location bang in the middle of gunwharf quays .
There is nothing luxurious about this hotel , which is a shame , it's the small things that can make or break a trip .
No little bottles of shampoo , or " extras "
Rooms looked a bit tired ,stain on the carpet , chipped paint .
Bathroom was clean , but the shower curtain did not keep the floor dry .
Bed was comfortable , and the linen was spotlessly clean .
The most annoying thing was the drone from the air conditioning , even when we turned it off the noise still droned on from the vents .
Breakfast was poor , no bacon , no mushrooms or tomatoes . Just sausages and scrambled eggs , or continental . Water not hot enough to make good tea .
In short , this is not worth £110 a night , it is only the location that saves it .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay, as you say our location is fantastic situated on Gunwharf Quays with all the restaurants, bars and shops all on the hotels doorstep. We are constantly working to improve and update the decoration of the hotel and have completed the lobby, Reception, breakfast area and bedroom corridors, we are now working through the bedrooms. I am really sorry that noise from the air conditioning unit affected your nights sleep and will ensure my maintenance team check the system to rectify any problems with it. As a Holiday Inn Express hotel, we offer a free continental style buffet breakfast with hot favourites which are scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans, this is offered in all Holiday Inn Express Hotels in the United Kingdom, Full English breakfast is available at our sister brand Holiday Inn hotels.
Once again many thanks for posting your comments which will help us to continue to improve the hotel and the services that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location at Gun Wharf Quays, the staff were friendly and efficient and it was spotless. The only drawback being the beds, they were so hard and uncomfortable my fiance had very little sleep!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJTodd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay, it was great to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the hotel to be spotless. As with all reviews I will be sure to pass on your comments with regard to the team, as comments such as yours really do mean a lot to us.
As you say our location is fantastic situated on Gunwharf Quays with over 95 retail outlets, over 25 restaurants & bars and attractions such as Spinnaker tower and the Historic Dockyard all on our doorstep. I am really sorry that your partner found the bed to be a little too hard and did not sleep well, it is our aim that all our guests have a great nights sleep when staying with us. Once again many thanks for the review and I trust we will see you again the next time you are visiting Portsmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Address: The Plaza | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.