We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value and really interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portsmouth Historic Dockyard

Portsmouth Historic Dockyard
Visitor Centre | Victory Gate, HM Naval Base, Portsmouth PO1 3LJ, England
02392 839766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 122 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featuring the NEW Mary Rose Museum and world famous ships HMS Victory and HMS Warrior 1860. Plus NEW for April 2014, HMS Alliance, the only remaining WW2 era British ocean going submarine.Also including the National Museum Royal Navy Portsmouth, Action Stations and Harbour Tours, there's plenty to see and do. Portsmouth Historic Dockyard is a great day out for all the family. Situated within a working Naval Base, Portsmouth Historic Dockyard is the only place in the world to see the Royal Navy past, present and future - a must see for anyone visiting the south of England.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Berkshire, Reading
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic value and really interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Dad loves anything to do with maritime and even better if it's old. The historic dockyards clearly ticked both boxes.

We went at the end of September and there was quite a queue to buy tickets (30 mins).

It's great value if you buy the combined ticket (£26pp) as you can go back as many times as you like in 12 months (Carers go in free with a disabled person). There are 6 major attractions and in a full day we only had time to see 2.5 so we'll definitely be going back.

HMS Warrior was really interesting (and I don't like 'old' or boats - I only came here for Dad and Husband - I'm very dutiful!) with guides on tour who were very informative. There are no 'don't touch' signs and you can get a real feel for how it once was.

We then saw HMS Victory which hasn't changed that much since I used to see it with school 40 years ago - yes, I know its historic, but it is no more informative or 'user-friendly' than it was then. not my favourite hour.

The Mary Rose museum is incredible. We didn't have time to see it all but will happily go back for more. What incredible artefacts and the layout/feel is wonderful. The designers and curators should be incredibly proud of what they have achieved in restoring the ship and making it accessible to the public.

The attraction would suit any age but there was a bit too much walking for Dad (aged 85).

The Costa shop in the entrance was really poor. They had run out of hot chocolate and served a chocolate cake on a very hot plate. Service was also poor.

The Edwardian Tea shop was pretty average. The only cappuccino they could make was instant and had no flavour. same with hot choc - could only make it with hot water. The Scone was nice though. I'd expected more even though it is clearly a 'tea' shop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,120
    591
    75
    36
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dalian, Liaoning, China
1 review
“A great day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Tickets seem to be high priced but very much worth a visit! Learn, see and do lots! Worth the spend, if your family its great fun on the tours too!The two ships (HMS Warrior and Victory) are fascinating, and the Harbour boat tour is worth doing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Visit to the Mary Rose Museum a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We visited on a Saturday afternoon when it was sunny and dry. ThInk twice about going to this venue in the rain as there is a lot of walking with scarcely any cover and uneven surfaces.

Think about pre-booking, if you can rely on the weather, as queues to buy tickets extended quite a distance outside the dockyard at midday. We had a group ticket but we suggest you buy the combined ticket so that everything is open to you and it is valid for a year.

We went primarily to see the Mary Rose Museum and were certainly not disappointed, This is a "Must See" museum - we were astounded at the items found and displayed following conservation. The layout of the museum has been extremely well thought out and takes you on a journey through and around the remains. Plenty of written explanations of items, as well as screens giving presentation of aspecs of life on board.

Even with timed entry it was crowded, rather warm and quite dark, presumably to preserve the artifacts. There are lifts or stairs to reach the three floors but a little more seating would have been appreciated for the less mobile. There is a lot of walking within the museum and, from what we could see, no way to go out for a break and then return. We felt a break half way round would have helped us absorb what we had seen before returning.

We watched the side of the ship emerge from sea all those years ago and this visit was a long awaited one. Wonderful.

We felt we needed several days to visit and appreciate all the dockyard had to offer and suggest visitors should allow at least two, especially is you have children as there is a great deal for them to see and do. Get there early. Queues for the harbour cruise were lengthy even at 4pm.

Eating - we didn't try the facilities at the Mary Rose centre, but our fish and chips at the Warehouse 7 were not hot (at midday) and we thought the Georgian Tearooms were misnamed - not a tearoom as understood by people over 60 and the staff were extremely slow to clear tables. Very ordinary food.

Try to fit in a visit to the Spinaker - it looked very impressive from a distance and would have provided wide ranging and dramatic views.

If you are in the area do visit. It is even worth a staying in the area so you could visit more than once.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous 2 days soaking up the history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Whikst certain of the logistics need improving, the overall visit and experience was utterly amazing and all the staff and volunteers do a tremendous job.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent sights.The dockyard was the high light of our stay in Portsmouth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Ship Victory was great as well as the Warrior and the Mary Rose exhibit was spectacular. We also thoroughly enjoyed the harbour cruise. We went up the Spinnaker Tower giving us great views of the city. Had a great time exploring the Gun Whales Wharf.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portsmouth Historic Dockyard also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Portsmouth Historic Dockyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.