We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portsmouth Historic Dockyard

Portsmouth Historic Dockyard
Visitor Centre | Victory Gate, HM Naval Base, Portsmouth PO1 3LJ, England
02392 839766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 122 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featuring the NEW Mary Rose Museum and world famous ships HMS Victory and HMS Warrior 1860. Plus NEW for April 2014, HMS Alliance, the only remaining WW2 era British ocean going submarine.Also including the National Museum Royal Navy Portsmouth, Action Stations and Harbour Tours, there's plenty to see and do. Portsmouth Historic Dockyard is a great day out for all the family. Situated within a working Naval Base, Portsmouth Historic Dockyard is the only place in the world to see the Royal Navy past, present and future - a must see for anyone visiting the south of England.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Southampton
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent the day at the dockyards and it was wonderful, something for everyone of all ages. A little on the pricey side but it must take a small fortune to maintain, and to see such history brought alive it was well worth it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,114
    590
    75
    36
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Despite the opening of the new Mary Rose exhibit this year which in fact was very interesting and well organised, I have to rate the rest of the attraction as average. There was a distinct lack of 'Buzz' to the place which left us feeling rather underwhelmed. Lots of space but not a lot happening.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent History and BUT Expensive Attractions!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

It's free to get into the main part of the Dockyards, and there are a few interesting little exhibits that you can go and look around for free, but if you want to go onto any of the ships, you do have to pay. Thankfull as i was in the Navy, We could go round for free, and they are very good very intersting ships if you do have the money to go around them!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A swashbuckling experience for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Where do i start .Firstly when you buy tickets for the attractions i would recommend a family ticket £26 each because individually it can add up to be expensive, We did the Spinaker tower and the outlet centre one day, and because you have a year to use your pass we returned to discover the naval dockyard; where we went round the newly opened" Mary rose" exhibit. this makes you appreciate the arduos task the salvagers had, and still have to display this magnificent ship from the 16th century. Next is HMS Victory need i say no more it speaks volumes ans there ilso the HMS Warrior to look round. Portsmouth is clean and regenerated to a high standard with a short ferry crossing to Gosport. The only sad part was seeing our fleet of frigates lined up ready for the scrapyard. a must for the family and children who are inspired by the Pirates of the carribean.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

One of the best days out and for the price is well worth every Penney if the weather is good it's hard to fit it all in. The Mary Rose is well worth a visit

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portsmouth Historic Dockyard also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Portsmouth Historic Dockyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.