We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rule Britannia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portsmouth Historic Dockyard

Portsmouth Historic Dockyard
Visitor Centre | Victory Gate, HM Naval Base, Portsmouth PO1 3LJ, England
02392 839766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 42 Attractions in Portsmouth
Type: Historic Sites, Military Bases/ Facilities, History Museums, Military Museums, Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Specialty Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featuring the NEW Mary Rose Museum and world famous ships HMS Victory and HMS Warrior 1860. Plus NEW for April 2014, HMS Alliance, the only remaining WW2 era British ocean going submarine.Also including the National Museum Royal Navy Portsmouth, Action Stations and Harbour Tours, there's plenty to see and do. Portsmouth Historic Dockyard is a great day out for all the family. Situated within a working Naval Base, Portsmouth Historic Dockyard is the only place in the world to see the Royal Navy past, present and future - a must see for anyone visiting the south of England.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Rule Britannia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Myself and some friends visited the Historic Dockyard for a day trip and had a brilliant day out. We managed to get around all of the main areas including HMS Victory and HMS Warrior. Unfortunately the Mary Rose Museum is not opening until 31/5/2013 so we did not get to see that, I will definitely be going back though. Getting to see the Trafalgar Sail was also enormously impressive.View the second largest sail that was on the HMS Victory during the Battle of Trafalgar completely intact, with cannon ball holes and all was amazing. I would also thoroughly recommend the boat trip around the modern day naval dockyard. Being able to see HMS Illustrious and some of the new Type 45 Destroyers was also a real treat.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,840
    532
    67
    37
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had plenty of time to look over HMS Warrior and HMS Victory, all the other museums, Action Stations and a boat trip. Filled a day and a half easily in low season!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“So interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A great family day out. Went during the easter holidays so was a little busy and super cold, but once you were inside and the kids were ingaging in something it was great. the ship had activities for the kids to do inside, like colouring and vintage games.
Great day if the weather would have eased a bit! But then again it probably gets super busy on warm days.
And when we visited they had the costumes from les miserables which I found super interesting as an avid musical theatre fan!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“HMS VICTORY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Time stands still I was taken to see the Victory by my parents, then on school trips and later navy days. I have been back twice in recent years never a disappointment is interesting

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Les miserables costume exhibition April 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

If you love the film, you will enjoy the visit, well worth a fiver. After travelling for two hours, we upgraded our ticket and had a look round the dockyard, would recommend it plus the tickets last all year, so can return whenever we wish. Took the boat trip round the harbour, time to revive your batteries, and staff were so friendly. Easy to get to and overall a lovely day out for myself and my twelve year old daughter. Added bonus costa coffee

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portsmouth Historic Dockyard also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Portsmouth Historic Dockyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.