We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family day out..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portsmouth Historic Dockyard

Portsmouth Historic Dockyard
Visitor Centre | Victory Gate, HM Naval Base, Portsmouth PO1 3LJ, England
02392 839766
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 49 attractions in Portsmouth
Type: Specialty Museums, History Museums, Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Military Bases/ Facilities, Military Museums, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Featuring the NEW Mary Rose Museum and world famous ships HMS Victory and HMS Warrior 1860. Plus NEW for April 2014, HMS Alliance, the only remaining WW2 era British ocean going submarine.Also including the National Museum Royal Navy Portsmouth, Action Stations and Harbour Tours, there's plenty to see and do. Portsmouth Historic Dockyard is a great day out for all the family. Situated within a working Naval Base, Portsmouth Historic Dockyard is the only place in the world to see the Royal Navy past, present and future - a must see for anyone visiting the south of England.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Horndean, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great family day out..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Me and my family visited the dockyard 16 Feb , we had such a fun day out, there was so much to see and do for all of us. We did the harbour tour, action stations ( kids love that ) and the amazing Warrior...such a great day, well worth the money.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,321
    415
    51
    31
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Portsmouth Dockyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had a lovely time just wandering about , lots to see didn't get to go on board the ships as they were closed ,

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Everything Nautical in one location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Whatever you wanted to know about the Nautical history of the country can be found here, give yourself pleanty of time though because the site is large and contains separate exhibitions. The clever thing here is that you can enter the Dockyard for free and roam around a lot of the static exhibits and cafes, but this then wets your apetite for more and you end up paying to enter the other exibitions (which is well worth it). Plus, if you run out of time you can revisit the site in the future and use your original tickets for the bits you didn't get to see first time round.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Day Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My family visited the Dockyard in February, very cold but worth the visit. Make sure you leave a full day to see everything.
Excellent value for money!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“dont bother so much wrong”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Visited yesterday & feel compelled to write this, after a lengthy drive was shocked at the price of the car park £8 for the day, park & ride only at weekends (this is a familiar phrase). Purchased a ticket which wasn't cheap, although it does allow you entry throughout the year, had to queue for a long while, then the sales staff do their talk which seems to take forever, they try to give you as much info but also upgrade tickets & guide books (more money req), once ticket has been purchased you have all attractions this is where the fun starts.
Mary Rose - ship not available
Mary Rose story -no artefacts
HMS Victory - closed
Trafalgar sail- closed
Harbour Tours- weekends only
Action stations - OK but every thing is 10 years out of date, poor graphics, non interested staff.
Boathouse 7 Restaurant, overpriced poor quality food, served by staff who gave the impression they did not want to be there, also there is an overwhelming bad smell in this building which put me off my food.
HMS Warrior was very good.
Royal Navy Museum - being redeveloped.
Ask for a site map & you are given a 2 year old out of date one.
On my way out i expressed my dissatisfaction at the ticket office, i kinda get the impression they are trying there best with many complaints, but seemed overwhelmed, the guy i spoke to was very sympathetic & offered me a full refund instantly, didn't get his name, tall with glass's & helpful.
Portsmouth dockyard sorry to be so negative but for the money & time wasted i would have had a better day in London.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portsmouth Historic Dockyard also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Portsmouth Historic Dockyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Portsmouth Historic Dockyard to your Saves list