We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of G! Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added G! Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
G! Boutique Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   71 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO40NQ, England (Formerly Beaufort Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I can't rate this hotel highly enough. I have stayed at plenty for business and pleasure and this is no.1 on my list! Nothing was too much trouble, from an excellent room service meal, to a very early breakfast in my room because it was before the restaurant officially opened at 7am. The take away goody bag was a lovely surprise. The bed was lovely and comfortable and the facilities and cleanliness were superb. The only downside for me was the my room was on the front, with quite a busy road, but I would just ask for a room on the back next time. I would definitely stay again and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants excellent service and something a little different to the corporate run of the mill hotels.

Room Tip: Book a room backing on the back garden if you don't like road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

It's great to hear you would return and we certainly look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    53
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
303
5
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Highbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Impressed by the quirky decor and all the reviews we read prior to our booking were so accurate. All the staff are so friendly and made us very welcome, chatting to us like friends rather than customers. Stayed in room 'Grinning from Ear to Ear', with huge leather bed complete with pop up TV. The room was spotlessly clean and the two little cupcakes waiting for us were a nice touch. We decided to eat at the hotel on our first night, and although we were the only ones in the bar the food was prepared quickly and was excellent. Breakfast was amazing, and excelled in both quality and quantity. Appreciated the goody bag when we were leaving, something we have never had at other hotels. Can't wait to stay there again and have already made another booking.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review,. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and it is great to hear you have already booked to return, we certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few times and every time it has exceeded our expectations. The staff are all really lovely and go above and beyond. The rooms are nice with everything you need for a couple of days, the beds are very comfy and the little touches like cupcakes wait for you. The breakfast was top and tasted very fresh with more than we could possibly eat. The bar in the hotel has a nice feel and is the perfect place for a couple of drinks before heading out to see what Southsea has to offer. For us this this the best Hotel in Portsmouth and Southsea, and we have stayed in a few, why anyone would want to stay in a Premier inn or Holiday express when they can stay here!! Then finally when you leave the staff give you a little brown bag that includes some bottled water and something to eat, a very nice touch. We look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The staff work hard to ensure all our guests leave relaxed and happy and it is so rewarding to read a review like yours.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were on our way to the IOW for a funeral and decide to stay in Portsmouth the night before. This hotel was only 10 mins from the ferry. All the rooms were called something beginning with G. Ours was Gosh! The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was excellent. The hotel, was only a 5 minute walk to a number of restaurants. All in all, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to seeing you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just stayed at the G Boutique in Portsmouth and from arrival to departure it is rated up there with the best hotels I have ever stayed in. I have rated this experience so highly for a number of reasons, those being the comfort, cleanliness, quirkiness of the hotel and the fact that nothing was too much trouble. Ellie who was the owner, was completely delightful and you can tell that an awful lot of thought had gone into making sure that people leave remembering their hotel stay for all the right reasons. From the complimentary cupcakes on arrival to the goody bag on departure, it made it all that extra special and I have made sure I've told so many people about where we stayed.
Thank you for making me definitely recommend and want to return.

Room Tip: You will be spoilt for choice on the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the special touches we have in place.

We look forward to seeing you back at G! in the future. Many thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Located in a prime spot for the front and easy to reach Albert Road and the amenities this scores above other places we have stayed in Portsmouth. A huge breakfast that caters for every taste served with a big smile. The rooms are clean and well appointed, with cakes and coffee always on offer. Friendly helpful staff who booked taxis and were happy to chat.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and overlook the garden. Check out the lounge area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to seeing you back at G! in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Whether you are looking to stay a week or just the night before catching the IOW ferry then this lovely unusual,quirky hotel could be just the tonic, it is modern, minimilst and clean, all the rooms are different and quiet, beds comfortable and all staff are very helpful and friendly. It is a short bus ride to Gunwharf with all trendy shops and myriad restaurants, then if you feel like it, a trip up the spinnaker tower (if you fancy this then get chit! from hotel for your discount).There is plenty of parking and a short walk to the seafront. Have to say although I am not a full time Veggie, the full english veggie breakfast was delicious and filling so well worth a try and would personally go again (and I am not a youngster! ) well done G-staff.

Room Tip: You could try for the four poster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for you lovely comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back at G! in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to G! Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G! Boutique Hotel

Address: 71 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO40NQ, England (Formerly Beaufort Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — G! Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the latest - and funkiest – boutique hotel in Portsmouth and Southsea - G! Boutique Hotel. Each room is unique, personal, quirky, original and the hotel benefits from a stunning guest lounge, funky cellar-bar, and a unique feel to all aspects of the ambiance, look and service. Rooms include Luxury buffet/a la carte breakfast, free wifi broadband, wide-screen Freeview HD TVs in all the rooms, premium complimentary bathroom products and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your G! Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G! Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.