We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of G! Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added G! Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
G! Boutique Hotel
71 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO40NQ, England (Formerly Beaufort Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 36 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the G,boutique the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, nothing was too much trouble and all conducted with a fantastic smile. The rooms are amazing, so extravagantly decorated yet tasteful and are a real sight to behold. Breakfast in the morning was just as much of a 'wow' served with a cheery disposition and again a great smile. I will definitely be returning to the G'boutique, I wouldn't go to any other hotel in Portsmouth.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful but if you can go for one of the feature rooms you will be blown away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. All the staff work really hard here to ensure all guests feel relaxed and happy when they leave, so it is very rewarding to read reviews like yours. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back at G Boutique again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    35
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
206
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kegworth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a fabulous place! From the minute we walked in, the floors, the décor, the furniture, the colours. I've just returned from a two day visit, 10 September 2013 and we invited our friends to see the place and they were impressed too! We even had a little personalised note when we arrived and two lovely creamy cakes. I even bought some matching shoes!! Well I thought they matched the colours!! We went as a treat from our daughters and stayed in a "Graceful" room, the other rooms were even better! Why the man next door pinched the name boutique is not so good, but........... The leaving gifts were a really lovely touch.

Room Tip: The more you pay, the better the room. The round bed looks great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank You so much for your lovely comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is fab to hear your friends were impressed too !!

Your shoes certainly matched the decor!! We loved them !!

It was lovely to meet you both, and we look forward to see you back at G! Boutique in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here on Saturday 7th September 2013. Me and my husband had one room and my mother had another. All the rooms have different names beginning with 'G'. Ours was called Gleeful and mum's was called Graceful. Check them out on the website. By the way, the website shows photos of each room and the rooms really are as good as the photos depict. Can honestly say there was absolutely nothing that we could criticise about the whole experience. First impressions count and the moment we got out of our car and crossed the threshold we were very very impressed. Clean, contemporary, sharp and sexy, that's just the reception and lounge area. Our room, Gleeful, was smart and clever. The linen, towels and complimentary toiletries were all luxurious and classy. As well as the usual complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate, we had home made little cup cakes made that morning in house. The beds were very big and very, very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing, top quality ingredients, beautifully presented and options for small or large portions. Best of all were the owners. Elli and Jason are young, smart business people who obviously know what they are doing. They go the extra mile to get it right. They genuinely seem to care that you are happy and make you feel special. We can't wait to go back and will recommend The G Boutique Hotel in Portsmouth to everyone.

Room Tip: Didn't see all the rooms but can't imagine there being one that I wouldn't want to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay!

It is fantastic to hear you were looked after and that you would recommend us to everyone.

Thank you so much once again, we really do appreciate it, and we look forward to seeing you back at G! Boutique again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a really individually styled hotel with some very appealing features. Designed by the owners and really stylish. We met the designer and she's delighted with how her vision was realised. The rooms are all individual and cover everything from modern & cool to chintzy & cosy. A very welcoming and friendly hotel. Brilliant. We'll be back (just looking for a reason to come back!)

Room Tip: Any - they're all fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and it is great to see the decor fully appreciated!

We hope you find a reason to come back soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good base to explore south sea and portmouth. Bus is leaving just in front of the door, bringing you to the city centre. The hotel rooms are spacious and very beautifully furnished. Breakfast is excellent (except the sausages) and service is hyper-friendly. Only water pressure in the shower could be improved, but does not matter fora short stay like mine.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments. We really do appreciate it.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are aware of the water pressure situation, and it is being dealt with by an external company, for which we can only apologise if this caused you any inconvenience.

Thank you once again, it was lovely to meet you and the others, and we look forward to seeing you back at G! Boutique in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our second time staying at the G! Boutique hotel and this time was for a special occasion of my Birthday. Both stays have both been as amazing as each other. The hotel staff are extremely welcoming and personable going completely above and beyond your expectations to make your stay enjoyable. Upon arriving at the hotel and shown to our room we had a bottle of my favourite wine chilled along with a card, homemade fudge and a further 2 bottles of miniature wines. The rooms are just beautiful and full of intricate details and also some little cupcakes! Breakfast was lovely and we were sad to leave... But the departing gift bags are also a very nice touch. We will be visiting the G! Boutique again in the near future and look to experience another gorgeous room.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed both of your stays. It's great to hear the staff looked after you, and it is very rewarding for them to read a review like yours.

It was lovely to see you again and we hope to see you back for a third time very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We visited here for a special occasion and what a place we found. The weather was going to be pleasant in Portsmouth so we decided to travel down early. When we got there at 10am we were able to enter our room and leave our bags. The stayed in the luxury room G is for Gloating you're not here, the room was spotless and the photos do not do it justice. When we returned we were greated with a card and cake -a lovely touch. Breakfast didnt disappoint either, great service and great food. On leaving the hotel we were given a farewell bag which included water and snacks for our journey home. I would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be treated like gold and to visit a place where everywhere you look is something different,

Room Tip: Any room will be perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elimanager, Manager at G! Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us. Thank you once again, and we look forward to seeing you back at G Boutique in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to G! Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G! Boutique Hotel

Address: 71 Festing Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO40NQ, England (Formerly Beaufort Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the latest - and funkiest – boutique hotel in Portsmouth and Southsea - G! Boutique Hotel. Each room is unique, personal, quirky, original and the hotel benefits from a stunning guest lounge, funky cellar-bar, and a unique feel to all aspects of the ambiance, look and service. Rooms include Luxury buffet/a la carte breakfast, free wifi broadband, wide-screen Freeview HD TVs in all the rooms, premium complimentary bathroom products and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your G! Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaufort Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G! Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.