We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited once - will not return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of O Sole Mio 2

O Sole Mio 2
The Boardwalk | Port Solent, Portsmouth, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 517 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: One of several restaurants on the Boardwalk at Port Solent
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Visited once - will not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have noticed this restaurant busy at most times - so we went with friends and visitng friends from australia - we chose it because it isnt a chain so we expected great things
It was a real disappointment - the staff seemed to think we were a nuisance interupting them from their conversations - the food was at best average - the decor is something from the 70's and is very tired & then the bill was considerably more than we would pay at any of the chains in port solent with much less value for money
ive read the mixed reviews & clearly they have days when they are absolutely on form & deliver - sadly this wasnt one of them - we wont go back - they just didnt do enough to warrant any hope of improvement compared to their competitors

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    11
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“midweek deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Any pasta or pizza for £6.50. Plentiful , hot food but nothing special. However at this price and in a bright and cheerful atmosphere it is a perfect venue for meeting friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pizza, nice service and wonderful location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We came here for a family meal at the end of the summer and had a brilliant time.

To start with be service was great and we were made to feel very welcome by the Italian waiter. We sat outside looking on to the water which was lovely. I get the impression that sitting indoors wouldn't' quite be the same.

The bruschetta was absolutely divine and I would certainly have it as a starter if I came back again. The complimentary olives were also a very nice touch as they were fresh and marinated.

For main I went for pizza which was good value and delicious. My family all had something from the either the meat or fish menu and all enjoyed there's very much. They had some great looking steak options with various sauces which I would try if I ever came back for dinner.

On the whole this is a great little restaurant and a nice change from the nearby Prezzo or Pizza express.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“My very favourite Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have visited this restaurant many many times, and I have never had a bad meal. The food is totally delicious and the prices are excellent. If you fancy a decent meal, it's definitely a good place to go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“You could be in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Authentic cuisine , and such a lovely setting ! Food excellent and the staff first class, and I am fussy ! Will certainly return !

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Sole Mio 2 also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to O Sole Mio 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Sole Mio 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.