We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for an overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Portsmouth to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect for an overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Fantastic location - great for an overnight before catching the ferry home to Jersey. Not luxurious but not expensive and a perfect centre for visiting the historic parts of Portsmouth on foot. Superb choice of restaurants nearby. Pleasant staff - receptionist a bit aloof. Breakfast simple but good. Couldn't give a 'very good' for cleanliness because common areas carpets very badly soiled (Why?) but room spotless and comfortable. No bath only shower but that was perfect for me. Everything you could need for a fair price.

Room Tip: Ask for a low number room if walking difficult - bit of a hike to the high number rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your very valuable feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay at this hotel but have taken on board your comments regarding other areas. I do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards, Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    220
    146
    54
    26
See reviews for
106
216
23
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Location was OK for a weekend visit to friends. Rooms are small and in need of redecoration.

Parking also a problem given that the hotel has a pool and fitness facilities and offers membership arrangements, so lots of people taking spaces that guests would normally use.

Not cheap and therefore will seek another hotel for my next trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. Your comment regarding the room condition has been documented and I am confident the necessary adjustments will be made so that all our rooms are to the correct standard which our guests have every right to expect.
Regarding parking, unfortunately we don't have a large car park but parking permits for free parking are available at our reception for resident guests, these can be used on the road at the front of the hotel, including the small car park opposite and also on Pembroke Road to the side of the hotel. These areas are very rarely full.
I do hope you will reconsider and give us another chance some time in the future.
Kind regards, Cormac, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just stayed at the Holiday Inn in Portsmouth with friends for the weekend. We booked two rooms and had them interconnecting which was absolutely perfect as we kept the door open all the time so it was like one huge room.
It was fairly easy to check in and we were upgraded to an executive room which was a bonus. The room was spotless and the bathroom had all the amenities which were needed. We had a fridge in the room which was great. A large flat screen tv on the wall.
Really happy and had a great weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to give us this fabulous review. I am so pleased to note your visit was ideal for you and that you enjoyed every aspect. I do hope you will come back to us very soon.
Kind regards, Cormac, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Spent the weekend with 3 other friends in Portsmouth.
All of us are ex-colleagues who worked together about 4 years ago and meet up every year for a weekend.
Hotel was great, very welcoming, staff were excellent, and nothing was too much trouble.
We had two twin rooms, which to be honest were a bit on the snug side, but we only spent about 7 hrs sleeping in them anyway.
This hotel is only about 10 minutes walk from Gunwharf, this was where we spent out evenings eating, drinking and enjoying the atmosphere.
The leisure facilities at the hotel are good, and a early morning swim for some of our party was just the ticket.
Breakfast was good and reasonably priced.
I will return, maybe next time with my wife, as she would love the retail therapy at Gunwharf Quay.

Room Tip: Drinks are quite expensive in the hotel, and are not much better at Gunwharf, but some of the bars d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our leisure facilities. We are lucky to have Gunwharf and the Historic Dockyard nearby for our guests to enjoy. I'm also glad our staff were helpful. I do hope you will return with your wife very soon.
Kind regards, Cormac, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st leonards on sea
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Booked this hotel as it was reasonable (not cheap) and near where we wanted to be. The room was very small and basic and the bathroom was dirty. The taps hadn't been cleaned properly and the towels were grey.
The room was dusty and warm. During the first night of our stay we tried to put the air con on as it was so warm. It didn't work. We opened the window to get some air in but we were overlooking the front entrance so that became very noisy with vans/taxis etc.
We mentioned this to the front of house staff the next morning and were told that there were no maintenance people around on a Saturday so they gave us a fan. We went out for the evening and when we came back we realised the radiator was on. We tried to turn it off but could't. The chap from reception came up and tried but said they were all 'stuck' on. In a room as small as that it's ridiculous to have the heating on. Another sleepless night even with the fan.
The pillows are quite frankly not up to the job - I asked for more and got them but they were uncomfortable.
I have to say the front of house staff were polite and helpful.
I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it. It's not cheap and certainly not cheerful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to express your views. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have asked my maintenance team to check the radiators in all rooms as it should be possible to turn them off if the room is too warm. I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. We do hope that you will give us another chance in the future to ensure you have a more enjoyable stay.
Kind regards, Cormac, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

had a massive family foom double bed and 2 singles nice bathroom and spotlessly clean had dinner in lounge downstairs food good value and very tastey had breakfast which was very good and buffet style the hotel is in a good central possition and we had a great weekend away children also made use of the swimming pool

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for this great review, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend in Portsmouth and every aspect of your stay at this hotel. We very much value the opinions of our guests and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards, Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

First time I have stayed anywhere in Portsmouth so was unsure about where to stay. Having stayed at other Holiday Inn hotels around the country thought it would be a good place to start. I arrived very late but that was no issue. I was made to feel welcome and when I asked for something it came very quickly. The room was a very good size and very comfortable. I had no issues with the cleanliness of the hotel. Breakfast was good but a downside to the breakfast was that the bacon looked to be very dry. I will have no issue staying here again but have taken note about other comments.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cormac O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Portsmouth, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room clean and comfortable. I am sorry for the issue with the bacon, I will pass on your comments to my chefs.
I do hope you will stay with us again very soon and again thank you for your positive feedback.

Kind regards, Cormac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.