We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located comfortable hotel, good for family” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Portsmouth to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
london
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Well located comfortable hotel, good for family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked online for two rooms 3 days before getting there but on the morning itself , we checked price and it went whizzing down so we cancelled and re-booked the rooms (you can do that before 4pm) , saving us more than £75 each room. Prices are always more expensive during half term holidays and also whizzing up over weekend, so worth checking prices .
Well located, coming by train it is a short taxi ride from Portsmouth central (less than £4 taxi fare ) or walking around 15mn from Gunwharf Shopping Centre and also Ferry Terminal for Isle of Wight. The building itself is rather plain brick but large breakfast /diner room and Starbuck chain coffee shop on ground floor to reception.Rooms are small but comfy and modernised, very clean , coffee/tea facilities/flat screen TV but no fridge or safe.
Swimming pool is small with separate sauna and steam room - very adequate if visiting with family or winding down - It does accept membership from outside so could be busy at times.
Breakfast was good but very busy. Although I must say that on the 2 days I stayed there, the pastries were finished 45 mn before end of breakfast time and not replaced, the hot dishes such as scrambles, sausages, beans, there was always something missing or running out of ...needed to be refilled.
On the two occasions we had breakfast it was definitively understaffed as we waited over 10 mn for a table and there were 25 people in the queue. Staff in restaurant were polite and considerate , very busy but we did not have our tea served as requested after 25mn waiting at the table . We decided to have tea in our room. Clearly a serious management issue for allocating staff - why not using self service tea pot and tea bags/coffee ? All we need is hot water, a mug and tea bags !!! Same with the reception area, just in front the reception there could be room for some armchairs when awaiting for taxi or to get served on busy day ... I felt like loitering the reception area when it was busy , just standing there... People are standing there, are they going ? Are they queuing for reception ? Are they waiting for someone ?The Star bucks had tables too but there were at times full of dishes and breakfast clearing . The lifts also were pretty busy at times especially breakfast time - Only 2 people with luggage could fit in the two lifts . Car park seems to be very busy .
At the end, I did like the hotel and its location, the rooms were adequate but this hotel can't cope with being full. Management needs to improve and make some changes. If I find another hotel withing the same range of price, I would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I was pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay particularly on one of the busiest weekends in Portsmouth. I am sorry to read there were aspects you felt let us down, and these points have been passed to the heads of departments as part of their ongoing program for improvements going forward. Thank you again, kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    220
    145
    54
    26
See reviews for
106
216
23
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Booked this hotel not realising that the great south race was taking place this weekend, so when we arrived to check in there was some confusion as it seems they did not receive our booking (through another booking agent) We were eventually told to take a seat in the lounge and after about 20 minutes the reservations manager came to us and told us he had a room for us. Considering the hotel was completely booked out, we were glad, (but a cuppa on the house would have been nice!).Manager was very professional in dealing with guests as were all reception staff. The room was nice as was the bathroom. Nice flat -screen TV and comfy bed with choice of pillows. There was a hairdryer in bedroom and tea making facilities. but no mini-bar. This was the weekend of the big storms so we stayed in hotel on the Sunday night and dined in the hotel restaurant which was ok.Very dark though and difficult to read menu. Food nice and not too expensive. Waiting staff very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was good with a big choice. We didn't get a chance to use the leisure centre but it looked nice from what we could see. The hotel is in a good location as you have Southsea beach just a few minutes walk from the hotel and Portsmouth Quays and Gunwharf Quays a 15 min walk in the other direction. There was a very nice pub called the Pembroke which we visited on the Saturday night and there was a two piece band playing and a great atmosphere. Apart from the atrocious weather, we had a great stay at this hotel and would recommend it for anyone visiting Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, despite the slight confusion over your booking to begin with. Great to see it was all fixed for you and that everything else with your stay went very well. Thank you also for your recommendation to others, this is very much appreciated. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A good central location for Portsmouth. Rooms clean and tidy, and I got a good night's sleep although the walls are a bit thin (I could hear the TV from the next room). Breakfast was OK too, but I grudge paying for wifi! The hotel had a pool which I did not use. Friendly and helpful staff. There is a free phone to call the local taxi company which is a good service and not expensive. Not the nicest of views (onto flats / houses) but good for the business traveller.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that your stay was to your liking and suited your needs. Please note we have many various views from the hotel, if your staying again and wish to have a sea or city view, please let the reservations team know and we will endeavour to assist where possible. Thank you again and hope we will see you again soon. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Basically an average Holiday Inn, with smaller than average bathrooms. We had the breakfast & dinner deal and stayed for 2 nights.
Check in went smoothly and as a Gold card member, I wad offered a free drink or 300 points. It's a bit stingy to only give one drink when you're a couple, but better than nothing, I suppose.
Room was clean but dinky. You had to walk right into bathroom to close the door as it was so small & the bath was tiny. Not really enough room to lay out my toiletries either.
Food was ok. With the deal, there was a choice of about 2 items in each section to choose from. Breakfast was plentiful & replenished regularly.

The o my problem we had was with the receptionist when we checked out . She was just amazingly patronising! When we originally checked in, they asked if we wanted a free newspaper, so I said yes Daily Mail. No mention that the free one had to be the I newspaper. And of course we were then billed for it. I said this to the receptionist at checkout, and she then said she would take it off the bill but the way she said it! 'Oh no need to work yourself up about it, no need to raise your blood pressure!' But I wasn't worked up about it, I merely mentioned it! Her whole tone was just horrible.
It did nearly ruin what had been a pleasant trip up until then, but like she said; 'Don't sweat the small stuff'

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am pleased most aspects of your stay were to your satisfaction. I am also pleased to read the receptionist removed the charges from your account, however I am extremely sorry, as is she, that you feel she has come across as patronising, I can assure you this was most certainly not her intention, and therefore offer our most sincere apologies for this. All your comments have been noted and we will use them as part of our ongoing plan of self improvement. Thank you again, kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Two day trip arranged to take our grandson away for a half term treat to see the Historic Ships in Portsmouth. Chose this hotel for its good location, swimming pool and family room. We weren't disappointed. The room was huge & clean and the bed was comfortable - our grandson's bed was a proper bed not just a bed settee, leaving the sofa for us to use the whole time. He loved the little extra touch of a specially folded towel with his own bathroom supplies tucked inside that had been left on his bed. What really made it special for him, and thus for us, was how friendly and kind the staff were - they all made time & conversation for him - the waiter, Steve Bell was especially attentive, as was the waitress Karen - our grandson even asked them for their autographs! Food in the evening & breakfast was very good and plenty of it, although I could've done with a vegetarian sausage option (I did ask but there wasn't one). In all we couldn't fault our stay; we had a very enjoyable two days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review. I was very pleased to read you all enjoyed your visit to Portsmouth and the hotel. Family time is so important and I am pleased that we have been able to enhance your great memories of your trip together. I know both Steve and Karen certainly enjoyed their moment of fame! I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you all back again soon. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We were looking for a place for one night so we could visit the Mary Rose Museum. The Holiday Inn was walking distance and included free parking and breakfast. If you are a fitness addict, the workout facilities are above average.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I was pleased to read the location and value were to your liking. I trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is about a 4 block walk to Gunwharf Quay. Good location for car ferry to Isle of Wight.
Excellent breakfast. Our room was upgraded to a suite which was excellent. The staff were very helpful and I would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for such a fantastic review on your stay. We could ask for no greater accolade that a recommend to stay from a guest, thank you. We are very fortunate to have such a great location to all the great sites and sounds of Portsmouth. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.