We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Portsmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Portsmouth to your Saves list
Travelodge Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kingston Crescent | Garfield Road, North End, Portsmouth PO2 8AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
sheringham
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Although this hotel is away from the centre and the quay, it has its own area - North End - where you can get anything as a holidaymaker that you might need from take aways to restaurants, an abundance of pubs, all the famous supermarkets and all at knock down prices. The hotel itself is refurbished and our room was spacious and comfortable; also as it was humid, they had gone to the trouble of putting on a fan before we arrived; a very thoughtful touch. The hotel also has ample parking. The 700 bus, just around the corner takes you to the main tourist areas of Portsmouth in about 10 minutes. If you were travelling to France, you couldn't be better placed to catch the ferry; it's 5mins down the road.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    136
    68
    27
    26
See reviews for
120
115
10
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

After reading other Trip advisor revues the only negative comment was the lack of air con. I feel this has been addressed satisfactorily as we had a fan in the room which made the room feel fresh and airy on entry. The windows could not be opened fully for health and safety reasons, so I feel the hotel had listened to and acted on comments to the best of their ability.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Ok so we're never prepared for hot weather in this country and that offers a challenge for hotels everywhere. Travelodge Portsmouth is no exception! We travelled down from Derbyshire on a Friday afternoon, having read that the car park was small, and we were looking forward to a chance to grab a bite to eat and relax before our early morning ferry crossing. We were warned at reception that the rooms were hot, so quilts had been stored in the room and just sheets were on the bed. But wow - it was like a sauna! Despite the desk fan running at full speed it just blew hot air around. The desk staff were friendly, though a little bit lacking in local knowledge (they couldn't give simple advice on where to go to grab a quick healthy snack). Whether that is because the road layout is so confusing simple advice is not possible, or that Portsmouth doesn't offer simple healthy snacks I don't know. Either way the outcome was that we tried their microwave snacks cooked by reception; they weren't as bad as we had thought.
The beds were comfy, room was clean but it was just far too hot to get a good night's sleep.
It is very handy for the ferry terminal and even on a peak August Friday evening there was plenty of space in the car park. So if you are just looking for somewhere to get your head down before you travel, then the Travelodge offers that.
Just don't have high expectations.

Room Tip: I don't think that there's any difference between the rooms. We were on the third floor, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stopped here after arriving on the evening ferry from France .Good clean room and comfy bed and a good nights sleep which was much needed after the long drive and crossing. Ideal for the ferry port, friendly welcome from Emma on reception .

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The room was way too hot all night, they had placed a desk fan on the dressing table but was no use at all. Very uncomfortable night and family very tired all next day. Not a great start to a holiday.

Room Tip: I would use another until air conditioning is installed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I did not expect such a friendly and cheerful welcome at a travel lodge
The two young ladies on reception were polite and very friendly
The room was fine clean and the bed comfortable
The room was hot but there was a fan
A nice touch there was water and juice in reception
Quite a noisy location as there are currently roadworks near by

Good place for over nighter

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanidloes, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel is perfectly placed if you are catching an early morning ferry and want to start the day feeling rested but it was spoilt for us by one thing, the temperature of the rooms. It wasn't even that hot outside but the hotel rooms were almost unbearably hot.

To be fair to the staff they had tried to keep the rooms cool by closing the curtains, a fan was available in the room and the beds just had a sheet on rather than a duvet but it was still uncomfortably hot . This hotel badly needs air cooling.

Even with the convenience of the location I think I would be reluctant to stay here again because we just did not have a very good nights sleep and that was the whole point of staying there, before catching the ferry early in the morning. Instead of feeling rested, as we had planned, we just couldn't wait to get out to cool down. Not the best start to our trip!

Room Tip: There isn't any way to avoid the heat problem at this hotel except to stand in the reception are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth

Address: Kingston Crescent | Garfield Road, North End, Portsmouth PO2 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.