We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine people & Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Sole Mio Two

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
O Sole Mio Two
19 The Boardwalk | Port Solent, Portsmouth, England
02392 388697
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 478 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Family run restaurant in Port Solent marina.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Genuine people & Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I'm a big fan of O Sole Mio, I have been going there for a good couple of years now.
The staff are very friendly and easy to have a laugh with, the food is to die for. I love my Italian food and I have to say I believe O Sole Mio has to have the best in the south coast at least! I've been to many Italians in Portsmouth & Southampton and I keep coming back to Mio. My personal favourite is the Lasagne, there's no messing it just meat and pasta with the most amazing sauce.
If you want genuine Italian food I suggest you get down here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    39
    8
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fareham
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Slow service sitting in the sun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I decide to have a meal in a sunny afternoon in march at this Resturant. After finding a lovely table in the sun proceeded to wait quite awhile for our starters which was lovely, our mains did take approx about 1.1/2 but drinking a bottle of wine time did seem to past fairly quickly. Dessert was delicious and coffee was good. Would recommend but allow your time in-between courses. Staff a little slow to say the least, food reasonably good, nice to eat outside and enjoy the weather in march.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytchett Matravers, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Authentic but a predictable menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Authentic Italian restaurant - slightly curt but not unfriendly service - not a problem. Food and portions good. I did feel that the menu was a little stereotypical Italian fayre for Britain. Lacks a bit of ambition and could have added a little more Calabrese or Southern specialities.

Always disapointing in England to see no breadsticks on the table, which are always present in restaurants in Italy. So this was a negative.

I am not sure I would go back as it was a little bit bog-standard for my liking - nothing particularly distinguished it.

There was no business lunch offering either.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere at this place. Best pizza in town that's for sure.

Desserts are very expensive tho at £6.50 each and that was just for frozen ice creams, the type you would normally get at an Indian/Chinese restaurant. Shame. There were a couple on the 'specials board' that were £5 but alas these weren't brought to our attention.

Have eaten here many times and thoroughly recommend, but won't be having dessert at that price.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterswijk, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fresh food, great service, delicious dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was hoping for some authentic Italian pasta dishes, but like so many others this restaurant does seem to cater for a more mainstream Western-European taste, smothering most pastas in lots of sauce. The only one I thought might come close, was the penne and chicken. It was prepared well, I have to say, with fresh ingredients. But just a little too bland for me, it needed an infusion of taste. (How about adding some garlic, or chillies, chef?) But the homemade tiramisu (made by the lady who served us, we found out) was absolutely wonderful, the best I've had! That alone was worth coming for. Add to that the excellent and very friendly service, and the reasonable prices, and my final rating despite the bland mains is still 'very good'!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Sole Mio Two also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Cowplain, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to O Sole Mio Two? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Sole Mio Two, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.