We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BLOODY FANTASTIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shenanigans Irish Cafe

Shenanigans Irish Cafe
Osborne Court | 57 Osborne Road, Portsmouth PO5 3LS, England
023 9229 3756
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 449 restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Southsea
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“BLOODY FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Amazing from start to finish the breakfasts are simply tasty wholesome and plentiful and such good value for money - I can see why it is so busy in there !


The Scottish breakfast is the best I've had outside of Scotland and the Irish my mother inlaw couldn't beat !

PLEASE ALL GO AND TRY THIS PLACE - YOU WILL BE GLAD YOU DID !!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    57
    8
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Go hungry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Really nice irish breakfast (i had the vegetarian), good price and reeeeeally nice staff/owners. Last time we tried to go there was completely full!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast in Southsea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

If you like friendly service, good quality produce and need a decent sized breakfast this is the place for you :)
Have been to this place many times and would definitely recommend

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Southsea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went for breakfast with our 1 month old son and found the place to be very accommodating for babies and super friendly generally. I had the Irish breakfast and my partner had the Scottish one. Both were really huge! I'm not usually a huge fan of black pudding or haggis but both were actually very tasty. All the sausages are from Buckwell's across the road so great quality. We had cappuccinos which looked like they had big chocolatey meringues on top and were possibly the best cappuccinos we've had outside Italy! My brother joined us later and it wasn't till after we'd left that we realised that they had only charged us for 2 breakfasts so I hope this review makes up for that and of course the promise that we will return. To be honest with breakfasts this good we have no reason to go anywhere else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cead mile failte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Always a hundred thousand welcomes to be at had at Shenanigans.
The service is fantastic, the food unpretentious, but very tasty (you REALLY gotta try the fish finger sandwich) and extremely generous portion wise for a big fella like myself!
Great choice of beers and and cheeky selection of finest single malts. For a small bar it manages to generate a very friendly and enjoyable atmosphere and I would (and indeed have) recommend it to anyone looking for a good craic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shenanigans Irish Cafe also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Shenanigans Irish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shenanigans Irish Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.