We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in Southsea with tip top service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shenanigans Irish Cafe

Shenanigans Irish Cafe
Osborne Court | 57 Osborne Road, Portsmouth PO5 3LS, England
023 9229 3756
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 517 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Southsea with tip top service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Shenanigan's has a great atmosphere, great food and really friendly and helpful staff - they cant' do too much for you! Their breakfast is particularly good and highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    13
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southsea, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Place to go for Breakfast in Southsea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Shenanigan's is without doubt the best place to go for breakfast in the area. We've now visited a couple of times (both times with our 2 year old son) and on both occasions had absolutely excellent food, perfect service and staff who were really accommodating of our son. The highchairs are clean and they were happy to provide us with an extra plate without insisting we buy a smaller breakfast for him. The food is amazing. The breakfast is really good value for money and we even got some bonus 'white pudding' as the chef was trying it out and wanted to know if we liked it. Just like everything in else in there we did! Yum.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best breakfast ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fantastic atmosphere, greatest breakfast ive ever tasted! Too cold to sit outside, but it's terrace outside looked inviting: will have to come out for another fantastic irish breakfast alfresco!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great atmosphere, scrummy food and outstanding service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I went to Shenanigans for the first time last week - what have I been missing!?!?! The place was heaving! Great atmosphere and clientel! What a place!

The next morning, we returned for breakfast - welcoming service coupled with excellent food (and the first proper breakfast in Portsmouth) means this place is now a new regular haunt for me. Mike, keep it up!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fills a hole well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Biggest bestest breakfast in the land. Fabulous coffee, superior to any chain. The only guinness that comes close to a pint on top if st James gate. Great atmosphere, especially when the rugger's on. Friendly, happy, funny, staff. Easy local parking. Brilliant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shenanigans Irish Cafe also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Shenanigans Irish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shenanigans Irish Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.