We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lady Hamilton

The Lady Hamilton
21 The Hard, Portsmouth Po1 3dt, England
2392 870505
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 483 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Old Pub with traditional cooking
hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Met up with some family for a catch up so we needed to eat somewhere without load background music blaring. We had 3 roast dinners, a home made steak & ale pie meal followed by 4 good sized & delicious desserts for just £42! All fresh veg, plenty of gravy & tender tasty meats. Friendly host & a nice comfy atmosphere. Can't fault it for value & service!! Good old fashioned food too. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    36
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good food but frustrated by the welcoming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This restaurant has a good location very close to the historic dockyard so no problem for them to have clients.
We went there at 2:30pm as of arrived in Pourtsmouth. The reason? we saw some plates served to customers inside the restaurant (hummm it was very attracting to us)
We wanted to order the same Fish & Chips we saw when entering but the tenant (not vey smiling) told us that the kitchen was closing at 2:30pm so it wasn't possible to order any F&C or Burgers...only specific meals... A bit frustrating!
We decided to stay (too hungry) and eat proposed meals.... It was good, no more. We felt we weren't something else than tourists with some money to spend in a place where we weren't very welcome.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very pleased!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were so pleased with the accommodation we had at The Lady Hamilton for the Great South Run. The location was perfect for the start of the race and Rose, the owner, was so kind to let us come back and have a shower after our run. The rooms were basic but extremely clean with an ensuite shower. In the morning we had a delicious breakfast and all the staff were so friendly and encouraging as we made our last minute preparations for the run. We will definitely be coming back next year!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“My second visit, yet again FAULTLESS !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went in here a few months ago, everything was excellent. I was over Portsmouth at the weekend , so popped in again for lunch and again food was lovely. Last time I had the roast chicken and chips which was great, this time I tried the burger and chips, very tasty. We went in and ordered about 11.30am and service was prompt. we had a couple of drinks and dessert and came out about 1pm, by which time it had got busy in there, I reckon this place is very popular with locals, and I can understand why.

I can not speak highly enough of this pub, if I lived in Pompey I would use it a lot.

Many thanks to all the staff and will be back again in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, VA
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Small pub, obviously a local favorite. Floor was good, and service was quick. I wouldn't have gone in based on the outside, but the Trip Advisor reviews were so positive we decided to try it. We were both happy with our meals.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lady Hamilton also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to The Lady Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lady Hamilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.