We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Marines Museum

Royal Marines Museum
Eastney Esplanade, Southsea, Portsmouth PO4 9PX , England
023 9281 9385
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 122 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our 1st visit and completely amazed by the sheer size of the outdoor area. There was an organised activity at 11 AM (repeated at 2 PM) for the children which my son really enjoyed. The historical aspect of the museum inside is also very good. As is the food in the café!!!

By agreeing to the gift aid in addition to the price of the tickets we have been told we can return as often as we like for one year, so we'll certainly be back :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    62
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Historic Location and full of RM History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I think this is the best museum in the city and have visited a number of times over the years.
Benefits are also its easy to park and there is a nice uncrowded cafe which is reasonably priced.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great piece of History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

the museum is in the former Eastney Barracks Officers mess , it has great displays of Marine history , and medals won , a good display of the memorabilia too , Easy access , but a lot of stairs .

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had a family day out for my birthday and we really love it. Loads of information for the kids. Loved History. Thanks to Groupon as well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a great place to go and spend some time, we have a link with the Royal Marines as our son was in but it is a fascinating place to visit and I was astounded by the medals that they had won and the fantastic collection that they had, a very worthwhile visit to the museum, the price to get in is a fair one, but also paying to park I have to say is a rip off, and something that needs to be looked as the car parking charge as well for 3 hours or more is extortionate, and will put people off, which will put people off coming to the museum as it is an excellent one, once people have paid to enter give them a ticket for parking as this will then stop non museum people parking there, I am sure that people won't mind just walking back to put a ticket on their car, some will!! Great time really enjoyed the experience!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Marines Museum also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Royal Marines Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Marines Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.