We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B & B - we will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortitude Cottage

Save Saved
You added Fortitude Cottage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fortitude Cottage
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   51 Broad St. | Old Portsmouth, Portsmouth PO1 2JD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Fabulous B & B - we will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

Stayed for just one evening, and this was a super hotel.

The room was very well equipped, with flatscreen tv, air conditioning and even a bidet - in a B&B!!

The bed was soft, but very comfortable - just a few less cushions please! - and the shower had plenty of power!

The location of the hotel is fantastic - in the old town, just by (or on?) Spice Island so its literally 200 yards away from the port entrance. That said, there is no noise from the traffic in and out of the harbour.

the hotel is about a 10 min walk away fron the Spinnaker tower, where you'll find loads of bars and restaurants.

Loved this place - we'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    36
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
197
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Having been too late to book a room at Fortitude Cottage, we were offered use of this beautiful apartment.
The apartment is tastefully decorated with excellent facilities It also has its own secure parking space. It overlooks Southsea common and has a nice looking pub a few steps away and is about 20mins walk from Gunwharf. We were lazy and took the car ,parking at the underground shopping centre for £10 a day.
Bread, milk, sugar tea coffee, butter, marmalade yoghurts AND champagne had been left for our consumption.
Although we were disappointed not to have met the owners (who are spoken very highly of in these reviews) we were very well attended to by Margaret.
After a busy day's sailing and sightseeing It was nice to be able to relax in the evening in a lounge rather than a hotel bedroom, although there does seem to be a problem with the TV signal as several of the channels were constantly interrupted.
At present the building is undergoing repairs and is covered with scaffolding which the owners had the decency to inform us of after we had booked, but this did not in any way affect us, so don't be put off by this.
I would certainly stay at this apartment if I visit this area again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Stayed one night on our way to IOW very nice couple nothing too much trouble, room well fitted even a bottle of Cava and great views. Good breakfast.
Free parking and some good places to eat and drink close by.
Gunwharf Quays nice walk with designer shops, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Fortitude Cottage is situated right in the heart of the historic area a short walk to all the sights. At the end of the street is the Spice Island pub where we ate twice and a square with great views of the harbour. Our room which was located on the ground floor was very quiet and very nicely decorated. The bathroom was lovely with a full sized tub. We were given a permit which gave us free parking in the public car park right opposite the hotel. Maggie and Mike were lovely hosts and we were given a welcome bottle of bubbly on arrival which was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

Just returned from a two night break and would recommend Fortitude Cottage to anyone.The standards of cleanliness and the welcome we received were second to none. The cottage is in a superb location and if you want stunning views opt for the room at the top. Ann and Paul South Wales

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

one night was simply the best present we could have had. given as a fortieth birthday present my in laws they couldnt have chosen a better place. the room and en suite were immaculate with all the extras normally reserved for a five star hotel not a b & b. run by the owners who also have a one bed apartment for rent on nightly basis, we couldnt have asked or wanted for any more. 200 yards from spinaker tower and gunwharf quays shops but also in the heart of a beautiful portsmouth old town.
would recomend to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

We stayed at the Fortitude Apartment, a short walk from the B&B. It is very centrally located for shopping and sightseeing. The one bedroomed apartment overlooks a beautiful green and distant views of the Southsea amusements. The hovercraft is a 3 minute walk away. We loved it. Everything we needed was provided even a bottle of cava, breakfast essentials as well as tea and coffee. The apartment is very comfortable and immaculately clean. It would be ideal for a longer stay as there is a washing machine and tumble dryer. The bed is very comfortable with high end linens and plenty of hanging space. It was very quiet and parking provided directly outside the apartment. We didn't need to move the car during our 3 day stay which was great. Thank you to Mike who was very helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fortitude Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortitude Cottage

Address: 51 Broad St. | Old Portsmouth, Portsmouth PO1 2JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortitude Cottage 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location.....This bed & breakfast is one of the most ideally located as all the attractions of Portsmouth and Southsea are within walking distance such as maritime England on your doorstep, with the ships, HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and HMS Mary Rose, all the Royal Naval museums and the Royal Marines museum. Other attractions include Gunwharf Quays, Spinnaker Tower, Southsea Castle and Charles Dickens birthplace. The Round Tower, Square Tower, Fort Nelson, Submarine Museum and Portchester Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fortitude Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortitude Cottage Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortitude Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.