We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortitude Cottage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fortitude Cottage to your Saves list
Fortitude Cottage
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   51 Broad St. | Old Portsmouth, Portsmouth PO1 2JD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have stayed at Fortitude Cottage over the last few years for our family's yearly get together. Mike and Maggie are fantastic hosts and go above and beyond the role of B&B owners, nothing's too much trouble. Their warmness filters through into their property - immaculate, clean and welcoming. I'd highly recommend anyone to stay there. The breakfasts are amazing too :-)

Room Tip: We were a family of four, and had a separate area to the main B&B allowing us more privacy which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    38
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
217
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southwell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We picked this hotel because of its good reviews and were not disappointed. It is immaculately clean and well-kept. The welcome is warm and friendly, but unobtrusive. The area has a village feel about it, yet is within a short walk of a huge variety of bars, restaurants, shops and the historic dockyard. It is quietly situated, although if you have a room at the front, be advised to keep your double-glazed window shut and use the air-conditioning if necessary as there is some noise from the ferry terminal throughout the night. When we did that we slept well as the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was beautiful - lots of choice and perfectly cooked. The free parking is an extra bonus. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I booked the penthouse for my partners birthday and could not have been more pleased. The room was delightful and had all we needed for a comfortable stay. Lounging on the day bed on the penthouse roof top in the sun was stunning, the views over the harbour and the spinnaker tower were stunning. We were made to feel very welcome by Maggie and Mike and appreciated the lovely bottle of bubbly. Breakfast was excellent. Parking outside with the provided permit was easy, thank you. We highly recommend the penthouse - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

'A great gem in the old town of Portsmouth. Good clean accommodation. Wonderful breakfast from the friendly hosts Mike & Maggie. The perfect location within easy walking distance of Historic Dockyard & Gunwarf Quays. Fully recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very welcoming hosts with fantastic hospitality, couldn't have been more helpful. Beautifully decorated, modern and clean rooms. Very comfortable bed with a gorgeous shower. Lovely breakfast with a wide variety of options. Everything was catered for during our stay, couldn't have asked for more. Beautiful view. Would happily return and recommend to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Spacious en-suite room with good quality decor and furnishings. Lovely owners who were welcoming and helpful - Maggie was happy to provide us with extra milk and teabags , we like a lot! Good breakfast. Excellent location and we were able to park our car with a permit that allowed us to leave it there free throughout our stay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great hosts, great room (we were in number 8), and great location. We parked opposite (for free), and didn't use the car for two days - perfect holiday! From Fortitude Cottage everything from the Mary Rose to the Spinnaker Tower to Southsea Castle is walkable. Be prepared for some early noise from the Wightlink terminal close by but hey, it's a busy port which, for us, was all part of the attraction.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortitude Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortitude Cottage

Address: 51 Broad St. | Old Portsmouth, Portsmouth PO1 2JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortitude Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location.....This bed & breakfast is one of the most ideally located as all the attractions of Portsmouth and Southsea are within walking distance such as maritime England on your doorstep, with the ships, HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and HMS Mary Rose, all the Royal Naval museums and the Royal Marines museum. Other attractions include Gunwharf Quays, Spinnaker Tower, Southsea Castle and Charles Dickens birthplace. The Round Tower, Square Tower, Fort Nelson, Submarine Museum and Portchester Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fortitude Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortitude Cottage Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortitude Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.