We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Queen's Hotel to your Saves list
Queen's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct-10% Discount
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“I would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

It is worth the small extra charge to get the superb sea view, we also found the staff to friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and fresh, and the buffet breakfast was of a good quality. We were pleased to be able to park our car off the street for no charge, and walked everywhere during our stay.
Some of the hotel is showing its age with some wear and tear in places, and this is clearly being addressed steadily.

Loved Portsmouth, and would stay in the Queen's again because off it's location and good helpful staff.

L@@k for the offers, and pay for the sea view.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    151
    75
    52
    30
See reviews for
86
171
19
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

As others have mentioned the staff were very helpful and welcoming. Some areas of the hotel did need a bit of TLC but I think that is part of the charm. Fantastic location and views (booked a Sea view room) Felt the extra cost for breakfast was a bit steep so I only booked room which was reasonable. My only gripe is the curtains seemed a bit small so as we had a spotlight outside it shone through the window all night.
Would not hesitate to book here again.

Room Tip: Book a Sea View as there was always something to watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

what a great night!!! the queens Halloween ball was amazing from start to end. upon arrival we were escorted to the clock room and asked if we would like to order any wines from the table, and then shown to the room its self. the host was most polite and helpful. the hotel had gone to great lengths to decorate and set up the room for the evening you could tell they had really put some thought into it and the center pieces on the table were great fitting in with the Halloween theme. we didn't need to wait long for dinner and the waiting staff ensured the whole table was served at the same which was nice, the food was delicious and extremely tasty i could have eaten it all over again had i not been so full up it tasted so good. once the dinner had been cleared away the dance floor filled immediately and stayed this way for the whole evening apart from the fire works display which was never ending!!! it was amazing, just when we thought they were over they would start another round of it was clear they spent alot of money on the display (best bit of the night for me). they also had a fancy dress competition and again not a tacky prize in sight. we will certainly be attending again next year !

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room grat views over the solent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devoran, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Although we only stayed here overnight the hotel was very well situated on the sea front at Southsea and close to all amenities - it was great having a sea view room at a reasonable price.

The hotel is old world charm and very cosy with friendly staff who even accomodated my son's 7ft ski bag - didn't fancy having that in the room with us. The room was adequate for a twin room and the bathroom was a good size.

Breakfast dining room overlooks Southsea Common and the sea and breakfast was great - both cooked and continental.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights for a weekend getaway in a room with a sea view - and what a fantastic view it was, with all the shipping going past. We were twenty mins walk away from Spinnaker Tower & Gunwharf Quays, and five minutes' walk from the Hoverport. The hotel itself is old-world charm, with friendly, helpful staff, both on reception and in the bar and breakfast room. The room wasn't huge, but was plenty big enough and the bathroom was huge for a hotel bathroom! The shower took a bit of tweaking and patience and would benefit from being updated. The mattress was a little soft for our taste, but we do like a firm mattress! The central heating was easily controllable and the room was toasty despite the severe wind and rain outside. On the second night was a ball, with fireworks, but we couldn't hear a thing from our room on the third floor, except the fireworks right outside which were excellent.

We did a trip to the Isle of Wight on the hovercraft, which was a good experience, and well worth doing if you've never been on a hovercraft.

We'll definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Worth paying for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The staff were all fantastic and very attentive during our recent attendance at this special event and stop over on 2 November 2013.
The event was very well organised. The food was plentiful and of excellent quality. We enjoyed the fireworks and disco. To win the fancy dress event as a purple zombie evil smurf with £80 carvary lunch for 4 was icing on the cake.
The room for £65 with sea view was lovely. The ticket for the event was only £35 so extremely good value. The room was very nice with comfortable bed.
All 10 of us in our group could not praise the hotel staff and facilities enough.
This is a lovely old fashioned big hotel and is well worth a visit even if just for a Sunday carvary!
Well done to all of you at The Queens Hotel. Top marks!
Ed Lait - Locks Heath, SO31 6PH

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I booked this hotel for two nights, checked out after the first night due to the really bad sewerage smell coming from the bathroom. When I reported this to the guy at reception I was told that a lot of guests complain about this and it was something to do with a Saniflo System fitted in the hotel. He offered to get me another room or send the maintenance guys in and see if they could fix the problem. After giving it considerable thought I decided that I couldn't stand another night there so returned to reception to let them know this, the original receptionist was not there and I was directed to The Manager. He told me that no one else had complained about this and took me back to the room to see if the smell was still there. again saying no one else had made a complaint like. I was made to feel as if I had invented the whole story. Eventually, I was given a refund for the first night and a no cancellation fee refund for the second night. So folks, if you can book elsewhere I would strongly advise you to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Queen's hotel was known as Southsea House and was built by the architect Augustus Livesay, in 1861. It was then a large private house owned by Sir John and Lady Morris and was later transformed into one of the first hotels in Southsea by William Kemp Junior, this is when it became known as the Queen's Hotel. In the late 18th century the Queen's Hotel had a yacht club that stood behind it called the Royal Albert and was also surrounded by woods, which were then called Stone Woods.On December 8th 1891 in the early hours of the Sunday morning a disastrous and fatal fire occurred. Aided by strong winds it raged until the whole of the premises had been completely gutted. The Hotel was rebuilt in 1903 by the architect T.W.Cutler into the splendid building that stands today, complete with its Edwardian baroque style in brown terracotta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.