We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Queen's Hotel to your Saves list
Queen's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct-10% Discount
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights for a weekend getaway in a room with a sea view - and what a fantastic view it was, with all the shipping going past. We were twenty mins walk away from Spinnaker Tower & Gunwharf Quays, and five minutes' walk from the Hoverport. The hotel itself is old-world charm, with friendly, helpful staff, both on reception and in the bar and breakfast room. The room wasn't huge, but was plenty big enough and the bathroom was huge for a hotel bathroom! The shower took a bit of tweaking and patience and would benefit from being updated. The mattress was a little soft for our taste, but we do like a firm mattress! The central heating was easily controllable and the room was toasty despite the severe wind and rain outside. On the second night was a ball, with fireworks, but we couldn't hear a thing from our room on the third floor, except the fireworks right outside which were excellent.

We did a trip to the Isle of Wight on the hovercraft, which was a good experience, and well worth doing if you've never been on a hovercraft.

We'll definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Worth paying for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    152
    75
    52
    31
See reviews for
87
171
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The staff were all fantastic and very attentive during our recent attendance at this special event and stop over on 2 November 2013.
The event was very well organised. The food was plentiful and of excellent quality. We enjoyed the fireworks and disco. To win the fancy dress event as a purple zombie evil smurf with £80 carvary lunch for 4 was icing on the cake.
The room for £65 with sea view was lovely. The ticket for the event was only £35 so extremely good value. The room was very nice with comfortable bed.
All 10 of us in our group could not praise the hotel staff and facilities enough.
This is a lovely old fashioned big hotel and is well worth a visit even if just for a Sunday carvary!
Well done to all of you at The Queens Hotel. Top marks!
Ed Lait - Locks Heath, SO31 6PH

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I booked this hotel for two nights, checked out after the first night due to the really bad sewerage smell coming from the bathroom. When I reported this to the guy at reception I was told that a lot of guests complain about this and it was something to do with a Saniflo System fitted in the hotel. He offered to get me another room or send the maintenance guys in and see if they could fix the problem. After giving it considerable thought I decided that I couldn't stand another night there so returned to reception to let them know this, the original receptionist was not there and I was directed to The Manager. He told me that no one else had complained about this and took me back to the room to see if the smell was still there. again saying no one else had made a complaint like. I was made to feel as if I had invented the whole story. Eventually, I was given a refund for the first night and a no cancellation fee refund for the second night. So folks, if you can book elsewhere I would strongly advise you to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here for the Great South Run. I paid £130 for a double room, no view (ok, I could see a wall) and breakfast for 1 person.

The Positives: Great location, car park, mostly very nice staff, good sized room. Porridge available at breakfast.

The Negatives: Hotel very run down and shabby. Walk up to room included plasterwork on carpet that had fallen off ceiling. Not cleaned up during my visit. Bed mattress very old. Mould around the bath. 45 minute wait for room service which was overcooked and tepid. Blinds on windows are 2 small so light not blocked out - and windows offer no sound proofing.

In conclusion, the staff do a great job but the hotel needs a cash injection from some one or a company that can show it the care it needs.

Room Tip: Really worth getting a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the queens hotel a number if times, with it's great ambiance, amazingly clean rooms, and very friendly staff, we stayed here for 3 nights, I liked the due care eye to detail, a great welsh guy who one minute was a duty manger then the next a chef, brilliant, a guy that can cook, I had a house seafood paella. Was delicious, very well presented, very impressed, I love seafood, all the bar staff were very very friendly too, all in all was a memorable stay, one I truly loved, if you ever go to Portsmouth, stay at the queens hotel, prime location, very clean and comfortable rooms, helpful and friendly staff,

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I picked this hotel for its character and wasn't disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very good as was the food in the grill. The hotel is in a good location and the historic dockyard is about a half an hour walk although there is a bus stop right outside the hotel which takes about 10 minutes. All in all a very enjoyable couple of days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view. We found the third floor very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We booked our wedding reception at the Queens Hotel after it was recommended to us by a friend. It was the perfect day all around and having it at the Queens really made it that much more special. From the minute all of our guests arrived until the last one left the following morning everyone recieved 1st class service. Having a wedding at the Queens is never going to be cheap, but this really was a case of "you get what you pay for." And was worth every penny. Every member of staff that dealt with us was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and they were never far away if you needed them for anything. The food was great and all of our guests commented on how nice the food was. The lay out of the table with all the decorations was perfect and made one bride very happy! We even had a member of staff Chris who was in charge of looking after our wedding giving us advice on the best way to set out a wedding reception such as the best time to cut the cake etc. That made such a difference as the reception had a far better structure to it than we had planned. Another nice touch by the Queens was that we hadn't thought of hiring a wedding cake table. When we arrived the cake was sat on one at no extra charge and no member of staff even mentioned it to us. A real classy touch. The director of the hotel even came over and asked how it was going and took a genuine interest in our day, which we thought was nice. All in all a fantastic day had by everyone and just so glad we made the right choice and had our big day at the Queens.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Queen's hotel was known as Southsea House and was built by the architect Augustus Livesay, in 1861. It was then a large private house owned by Sir John and Lady Morris and was later transformed into one of the first hotels in Southsea by William Kemp Junior, this is when it became known as the Queen's Hotel. In the late 18th century the Queen's Hotel had a yacht club that stood behind it called the Royal Albert and was also surrounded by woods, which were then called Stone Woods.On December 8th 1891 in the early hours of the Sunday morning a disastrous and fatal fire occurred. Aided by strong winds it raged until the whole of the premises had been completely gutted. The Hotel was rebuilt in 1903 by the architect T.W.Cutler into the splendid building that stands today, complete with its Edwardian baroque style in brown terracotta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.