We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Queen's Hotel to your Saves list
Queen's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our Wedding Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

From the moment we viewed this grand lady we knew it was for us (we viewed many). Throughout the organisation of the wedding, including our unusual requests, the staff were always accomodating. The food & service on the day were exceptional. We stayed in total for 4 nights so experienced the hotel as both guests and bride & groom. As guests, the room was outstanding with superb sea views & the breakfast was excellent with a large choice of quality food. The food in the restaurant on the eve of the wedding day was top quality. The mussels were in a fantastic sauce & the fish was cooked to perfection & was good value. Again the service was excellent with them coping easily with an unexpected request for a table of 15. We had a total of 100 people, with most staying at the Queens for 2 nights & having spoken to them they all had high praise for the hotel & intend to return. Some of our guests only book 5 star and stated "what a find, what a gem". Thank you Queens for making our wedding day the one we had always dreamed of & see you soon.

Room Tip: It's definitely worth asking for a seaview. Also most of the family rooms are 2 bedroomed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    169
    84
    57
    39
See reviews for
99
188
22
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

This is a grand old hotel from the outside but decidedly average and tired inside. Small details that you would expect from even a budget hotel were missing here, even if the room was a good sized, well furnished and clean.

For example, the shower was poor, with poor pressure and variable temperature, the bathroom lighting around the sink was dim, the extractor fan and toilet cistern were both very noisy. The curtains failed to close properly (a couple more curtain hooks would have done the trick), the TV had only 4 snowy channels (plus 3 saying 'no satellite reception').

Breakfast was an expensive addition (£19 for a couple) and nothing particularly special.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We came to the hotel to attend my Sister-in-Law's wedding weekend. We stayed for 3 nights. We have never been to the hotel before but will most definitely come back. The Queens is the Grand Lady of Southsea and has all the characteristics to match, the staff were friendly and attentive and no other hotel could have been chosen that would have outdone this one. The food was excellent, the accommodation was faultless and the view from our room was refreshing. I would like to thank all the staff for helping to make this wedding so perfect and memorable. I would strongly recommend The Queens if anyone would like their wedding day to go without a hitch and I would strongly recommend this hotel for a stay anyway because shopping is just round the corner, Southsea Common just in front of you and Old Portsmouth just 15 minutes walk away. Thank you again Queens, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, try to get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

hors de vors were awful and the evening buffet was not much better. Hotel is pretty old but located on the sea front. Views from back rooms are of the Portsmouth ghetto. Drinks were very expensive in the hotel. Room was large. No tissues and a particularly pathetic choice of TV channels. 1, 2, 3, & 4 only. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was quite nice. Probably would not stay here again as the price was too high for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the "Queens" , over a weekend reriod to attend our daughters wedding. We can not thank the management and staff enough for making this special day a total succes and can't wait for a special occassion to stay there again.
Don't wait for a need to stay there, "Just make up an excuse.

Room Tip: try for a room with a few of the solent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

For the price there must be better places to stay in Portsmouth if you want quality and value for money.
The breakfast served was very poor: cheap fruit juice and instant coffee passed off as filter coffee. They even charged extra for my espresso for breakfast. They ran out of pastries on the first morning and the ingredients used in the cooked breakfast were definitely 'budget'.
The Superior Double Room was clean and had plenty of space but too few furnishings and almost nothing on the walls. Unfortunately, the shower screen was mouldy and trying to get the right temperature for a warm shower was impossible: too hot or too cold. The window blind was too small for the window which gave the lady who was enjoying her sea view from her hotel opposite more than she bargained for.
The Queens seems to do a roaring trade in wedding receptions and conferences. As a result, this is clearly taking its toll on the hotel - I'm afraid it shows. There needs to be a lot of investment in the hotel to return it to its former glory. The website photographs portray a lovely hotel but in reality (and sadly) the place does not live up to them.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: View the room first, especially the bathroom / shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This hotel is old fashioned in the best sense of the phrase. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are not ultra-modern but they are comfortable. It is a very nice place to stay. I recommend paying the extra for a sea-view room. The rooms with a sea-view look out across Southsea Common and have splendid views. Some have balconies as an added bonus.
The car park is large and you should be able to park without difficulty. The hotel is very close to the shops and restaurants at Southsea and a pleasant walk away from the centre of Portsmouth.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hotel

Address: Clarence Parade, | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Queen's hotel was known as Southsea House and was built by the architect Augustus Livesay, in 1861. It was then a large private house owned by Sir John and Lady Morris and was later transformed into one of the first hotels in Southsea by William Kemp Junior, this is when it became known as the Queen's Hotel. In the late 18th century the Queen's Hotel had a yacht club that stood behind it called the Royal Albert and was also surrounded by woods, which were then called Stone Woods.On December 8th 1891 in the early hours of the Sunday morning a disastrous and fatal fire occurred. Aided by strong winds it raged until the whole of the premises had been completely gutted. The Hotel was rebuilt in 1903 by the architect T.W.Cutler into the splendid building that stands today, complete with its Edwardian baroque style in brown terracotta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Queen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.