We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seacrest Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Seacrest Hotel to your Saves list
Seacrest Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 South Parade | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2JB, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great service, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Exactly what I expected. Nice enough room, friendly helpful staff... Top floor room, close to the lift - so I was concerned about hearing it all night... but no issues at all - had a cracking nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    87
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
63
136
13
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at Seacrest for 2 nights 5-7 Dec. in a Superior double room.
The reception area was warm and the receptionist very welcoming and friendly.
We checked into our room 25 on the third floor with excellent views over the Solent to the Isle of Wight.
We had our evening meal on both nights in the restaurant the menu showing a good variety of meals at very reasonable prices. The breakfasts were very substantial with choices from fresh fruit, juices, cereals and fried options more than enough to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites
We have stayed in the Portsmouth / Southsea area .on numerous occasions at several different hotels over the past ten years. I can honestly say that none of the others came anywhere near the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff ( special mention to Anne in the Bar) or the cleanliness of the hotel throughout.
We will certainly be returning to the Seacrest. Thank you.
Dr. L.S. Reeves

Room Tip: The room options show the rooms with sea views. You can call the hotel to give any personal requirem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived in november, one night only. Nice room, little but convenient and newly restored. Very nice white and black bathroom. The hotel was as i imagines it to be. A small hotel on the other side of the road, opposite the ocean. Nice area, bars and The Pyramids center 1 minute walk from the hotel.
The only minus was the room temperature. Even though the staff got the heat turned up, 3 minutes after my request, the heat was (i think automatically) turned off at night. So when I returned very late (was working, reviewing a concert at The Pyramids) it was penguin and polar bear cold. I had to sleep in my clothes with extra blankets, still freezing. Bathing the next morning was a struggle, getting my self out on the cold bathroom floor. I made it, and survived the flu I also got as "a gift from the hotel". All that sayed, I would love to come back - in the summer, and showing my family the wonderful place it is. Average grade, would have gotten 4 if the heat had been on before I checked in and stayed on all night also. Breakfast nice, fresh coffee from table press coffee maker.

Room Tip: Get ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. The Hotel gave you flu? I would suggest that someone who slept in their clothes with a 13 tog duvet and several extra blankets on top of them nearly three weeks ago, (when the weather was unseasonably warm), already had flu. Furthermore, I cannot understand why someone would suffer through the night in "Penguin Polar" conditions, when all they had to do was pick up the telephone, dial zero and ask for a heater? (as per our room information pack).

You arrived at the Hotel during the day, well before our 3.00pm check in time and the Hotel Heating system was put on at your request as you said you were cold. You went out that evening, arriving back around three in the morning, having had "an extremely good night out", according to our night porter who bid you goodnight before you disappeared to your room. On Check Out you had a long conversation with both Proprietor and the General Manager at Reception. You were asked if you were comfortable and had enjoyed your stay, your response was affirmative.

You have waited nearly three weeks to write this review, which serves absolutely no purpose to you, and harms the good reputation of the Hotel and its "friendly" staff. We are however, grateful that we faired better than the other establishments you reviewed for Portsmouth during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 1 night at the Seacrest on 30 Nov in a superior room on the 1st floor (no.7).
If you look on their website, it is the room decorated in a purple and gold. The room was absolutely spotless clean.With a view over the public gardens across the road, and beyond that, the sea. The room is decorated and furnished to a very high level, but also has a homely feel, which I loved. Nice touches included bath robes and full blackout curtains. There is tea ,coffee and even hot chocolate in the room (kettle,sugar,sweetener,milk,etc). Also a fairly large flatscreen tv with all the Freeview channels. Our bed was so comfortable, a perfect nights sleep. Also in the room is a dressing table plus mirror, chair and ample wardrobe and drawer space. The bathroom is fairly standard, but again, is spotless clean and looks fairly new and all worked perfectly.
All the staff we met during our short stay were fantastic. Very friendly, chatty and most welcoming. We arrived back about 9.30pm and asked for some food. Unfortunatley They stopped serving at 9pm, but the lady went out of her way to make us our food, while also serving other guests in the bar. "Above & beyond"..Really top service.
The hotel lobby is furnished and decorated much as you would imagine a typical period house. All very comfortable, and again "homely" . Such a refreshing change from chain hotels.
Another major plus is that there is free permit parking on both sides of the road outside the hotel. A really fabulous touch, which was extremely handy and welcomed.
The surrounding area is also very nice. Very handy if you are going to "The Pyramids" venue as it is across the road, and as i said before, the beach is just a few minutes walk. Portsmouth city centre is also close by. We took a cab (£5) and we were there in about 10 mins. So location is perfect.
Breakfast was included in my price. You eat downstairs in the restaurant. Again it is furnished to a very high standard. My wife loves chandeliers , and there are many. Breakfast choice was full English and about 6-8 others. Not counting tea, coffee, 3 juices, cereals , toast, jams, yoghurts,etc The full English was superb. Quality ingredients really make a difference. Thoroughly enjoyed my breakfast!
If staying in or around the Portmouth area again, I would have no hesitation in staying at the Seacrest, and would 100% advise others to do so too.
A big thank you for welcoming us, and the very best of luck with your continued success.

Room Tip: If possible, a sea view, and again, if possible, a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there for 2 nights in first week of November as I wanted to get out of monotonous routine and unfriendly weather of London. The drive to Portsmouth was fun and the town was a pleasant change with its warmth and beautiful beaches, museums and other good places to see. The very first impression of the hotel was the feeling of being at home. The staff was very cordial and eager to help. Being a hotelier myself, I know this attitude is not very common and not easily found in most of the places.
Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review - praise indeed coming from another Hotelier! I think the secret of our staff is that they genuinely enjoy what they do and take enormous pride in doing the best that they can to make the Seacrest the best that it can be. Than you again for your review - we are tickled pink! Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location for both Southsea and Portsmouth- only £4.50 for a taxi up to the Historic Dockyard!
Great hotel very friendly and efficient staff- in particular the lady who ran the dining room for breakfast.
Our room had a great view of the sea and common and was very comfortable and clean if a little small.
The breakfasts where very good we would certainly come back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel so positively. The location, as you say, is great - and we like to think is up there with the best in Portsmouth. We are so glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and found the service to be efficient, I know Ana will be pleased! Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend to visit museums in the area. Having visited Portsmouth before and stayed in chain hotels, this time around we were looking for something with a more personal touch. A quick search on the Internet found the Seacrest Hotel, which appeared to fit the requirements.

We booked a sea view room which was very comfortable and the king sized bed was very much to our liking. The hotel staff were very friendly, efficient and appeared to know their jobs. The restaurant menu was a little limited, but this isn't always a bad thing and we found food of good quality and enjoyable. Parking is generally outside of the hotel and is free by virtue of a parking permit which is issued by the reception on arrival.

We would gladly stay here again on our next visit to Portsmouth and would suggest other potential customers give Seacrest a try when next in Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana-Marie T, General Manager at Seacrest Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
It is always a pleasure when a Guest describes our little Hotel as "Home from Home", which is exactly what we set out to achieve, when we renovated the Hotel earlier this year. We are delighted that you found our King size bed to your liking and the room comfortable. We note you would return to us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seacrest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Hotel

Address: 12 South Parade | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seacrest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seacrest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Portsmouth
Minotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seacrest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.