We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff a nice place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Merchants

Spice Merchants
44 Osborne Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 3LT, England
02392 828 900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 478 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Southsea
2 reviews
“Great staff a nice place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Would highly recommended there is a plenty of choice. I took my nephew wife son and mother in law.we are surprised to see their various delicious dishes .all are tired to something new.really enjoyed.it was our wonderful evening spent over there.such friendly and attentive staff. Food was awesome even we didn't wait long for our meals.thank you for always making us feel so happy.we would recommended you again and again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    37
    13
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian cuisine with a comfy relaxed atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Myself and fiancé visited on the 21st June and had a lovely evening here, food was fresh, hot and generous with portion sizes. The prices were very reasonable, (cheaper than our usual takeaway!) And the staff were very efficient and friendly especially given a busy Friday night. Will be recommending friends and definitely be returning soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nas and his team never fail to impress.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Yet another wonderful evening spent in Spice Merchants making my mothers birthday just that bit more special. Such friendly and attentive staff. My prawn jalpari was delicious and even being in a large group we didnt have to wait long for our meals, which we all enjoyed.
Thank you for always making us feel so welcome. We would recommend you again and again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really good food, great staff a nice place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Would highly recommend. There is plenty of choice. I took my Son, Wife and Mother in law so a few different pallates to please. All tried something new and really enjoyed. We will be back very soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cracking value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Usually at 7.45pm midweek you would expect a few customers to be in place but when my party of four walked in the place was empty apart from the staff, who all had a welcome smile for us. I must admit to being a little worried that we had made a bum choice. I needn't have worried. The service was spot on, the food even better and the value for money excellent.
Although quiet to start with business did pick up - but only a little. A spot as good as this needs more support.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Merchants also viewed

Portsmouth, Hampshire
 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Spice Merchants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Merchants, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.